GlockTalk.com
Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups

SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 01-12-2010, 10:47   #1
sink156

Ohio LEOs chime in (LEOSA question...yes another one)

I have to run up to Cincinnati tommorrow, my dad is having surgery at one of the Jewish hospitals. Is there anything I need to know before I get there, I don't want to be hung up wasting time and not get to see him before he goes down to the OR.

Thanks in advance.
sink156 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2010, 13:42   #2
MeefZah
Cover is Code 3

Some of the larger hospitals have armed hospital police. Only one hospital I've been in employs metal detectors at the ER doors (other public entrances don't have them), and the few times I've gone in that ER I just discreetly tell the officer that I'm a cop and carrying, badge them, and they ignore the metal detector when it alerts.

Under LEOSA you can legally carry in an Ohio hospital but I doubt you will ever have to ID yourself, they most likely won't even know you are carrying.
"No amount of indoctrination or textbook learning will in themselves develop more than efficient mediocrity. Operations should be handled with a combination of force, subtlety, shrewdness, guile, and knowledge born of actual experience." - DF
MeefZah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2010, 16:58   #3
p.d.

Good luck to your Dad. As to the other matter, the only place I've ever had a problem was the VA, and they made me put my pistol in a locker in their security office and I was in full uniform.
p.d. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2010, 19:46   #4
9L82
Caffeine Addled

I have been to both Jewish Hospitals, you won't have an issue, just keep it concealed.
Old 01-13-2010, 00:31   #5
lawman800
Juris Glocktor

I carry in all the hospitals here, on and off. Just never went to the State Metropolitan Hospital where they are unarmed due to the correctional nature of the place.