Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups

SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 01-15-2010, 15:10   #1
lakerfan

New Gun- G22 RTF2- what type of ammo?

What type of ammunition is best for simple target practice? For self defense (that's legal in Cali)? I read something about reloads not being good, so does that mean no on the reloads from the shooting range?

Thanks everyone!
lakerfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2010, 22:20   #2
Brucev

This past year I bought a G-22RTF. It has been simply outstanding in every respect. For target practice I have had very good results using the following ammunition: Federal 180 gr. FMJ-FN; Winchester 165gr. FMJ; Magtech 165 gr. FMJ. With the 180 gr. loads, POI has been POA. With the 165 gr. loads, POI has been just about 1 inch above POA. All results reflect center of group fired at 15 yds.

I have been reloading rifle and pistol ammunition for over 25 years. Properly produced with due attention, reloaded ammunition will give excellent and in some cases superior results. All of my competition ammunition for rifle matches is reloaded/handloaded. I have not yet started loading for the .40 but as soon as I have enough cases, I will buy some primers, powder and bullets and start handloading .40 S&W rounds for my G-22. If you can find a commercial reloader who can supply good quality ammunition to meet your needs at a competitive price, then buy a box or two and see how the rounds run in your pistol.