SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 01-18-2010, 00:07   #1
lomfs24

Send a message via AIM to lomfs24 Send a message via Yahoo to lomfs24
Bullet seating

OK, I have been reloading for many years. I think I started reloading for a 22-250 when I was about 14 or 15. But I never was real serious about a lot of things. When the manual told me the O.A.L. I would load to that spec. Things chambered properly and I shot good enough groups to take countless deer and a few elk and tons of small game and varmits with reloads. I have reloaded for nearly every gun I have ever owned. Well, recently I have moved into a new world of shooting and I am starting to notice the people are posting on threads that they are seating their bullets to depths in relation to the chamber of the gun. For instance they are saying that they load the bullet to where it is touching the lands or they are loading .020 off the lands etc... How do you know how far off the lands your bullet is? I guess you could keep loading your bullets out until they don't chamber well anymore and then shorten them up. But is there a better way to get this kind of information?

And what is a good distance off the lands? Or is that more of a gun specific question? These may sound like dumb questions that I should already know but obviously I don't and I probably should.
The simple believeth every word: but the prudent man looketh well to his going. ~Proverbs 14:15
lomfs24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 03:24   #2
dudel

One of these helps
http://www.midwayusa.com/viewProduct...tNumber=570611
dudel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 03:50   #3
RLDS45S

The Hornady LNL above is used in conjunction with the bullet comparator assembly.
Otherwise it does no good to use. Bullets vary in OAL, so the only consistent way to set up close to the lands is using the OAL Gauge with bullet comparator.

There is much more to this then using above tools.