Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups



  
SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

 
  
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-17-2010, 15:27   #1
RDW
BTDT
 
RDW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: PRK
Posts: 2,851
Windows2000 admin question

How can I change/remove the admin account.

I do have acess to the admin account (I have the password).

It's just a "pain on the ass" to have to log on as the admin to add/remove programs etc.

Google was not my friend this time!

Thanx in advance.
__________________
Formerly Posted as "Big Dawg #383" (10/2000)
Joined John Birch Society in 1961; when others were Hippie Scum & NOW they're running our Country!

I'm MUCH MORE Conservative NOW.

Last edited by RDW; 03-17-2010 at 15:32..
RDW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2010, 18:20   #2
StuntPilot
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: DFW, TX
Posts: 179
You could edit your personal account to be an administrator, and then always have appropriate rights and access.

http://uis.georgetown.edu/software/d....accounts.html
StuntPilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2010, 19:12   #3
Toyman
Senior Member
 
Toyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 3,863
Doesn't it have right click Run as Administrator?
__________________
Mike - A forum post should be like a skirt. Long enough to cover the subject material, but short enough to keep things interesting.
"It's not about the odds, it's about the stakes." -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
Toyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 13:48   #4
RDW
BTDT
 
RDW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: PRK
Posts: 2,851
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toyman View Post
Doesn't it have right click Run as Administrator?
No - It's Windows 2000; I've not seen that option.
__________________
Formerly Posted as "Big Dawg #383" (10/2000)
Joined John Birch Society in 1961; when others were Hippie Scum & NOW they're running our Country!

I'm MUCH MORE Conservative NOW.
RDW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 14:12   #5
TuxthePenguin
Senior Member
 
TuxthePenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,924
Send a message via AIM to TuxthePenguin
Sounds like you need to add the your userid to the administrators group.
__________________
Glock 23 (.40) | Glock 26 (9MM) | Glock 36 (.45) | Kel-Tec PF-9 (9MM)
Smith & Wesson M&P 15 (.223/5.56MM) | Yugo SKS (7.62x39MM)

It's not Republican vs. Democrat.
It's the American People vs. The U.S. Government
TuxthePenguin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 14:53   #6
JimmyN
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,534
Win 2K doesn't have the 'run as..' option in the right click menu, that showed up with XP.
With Win2K you have to log off and then log on as administrator.

So your choices are to make yourself a member of the administrators group, or log on and log off each time you need admin authority.

Or you could use the geeky "look at what I can do" method to change users in Win2K.

Pull up Task Manager and kill the explorer.exe process. This will blank your desktop and all you'll have is the Task Manager window. Then click on the "New Task" button and type in "runas /user:localmachinename\administrator explorer.exe" Enter the password when prompted and your desktop will return and you'll be an administrator to do whatever you like.
__________________
** Sent from my rotary dial phone using TwirlaWord **
JimmyN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 15:12   #7
fgutie35
Senior Member
 
fgutie35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: deep southeast Texas
Posts: 2,689
Quote:
Originally Posted by RDW View Post
How can I change/remove the admin account.

I do have acess to the admin account (I have the password).

It's just a "pain on the ass" to have to log on as the admin to add/remove programs etc.

Google was not my friend this time!

Thanx in advance.
On win2K you cannot remove the Administrator account. Instead, what you can do, is to create a local account and give it administrator rights. That way you can add or remove applications using that account and not the admin account. There are some networking functions in which you will have to login with the administrator account regardless, but I don't think you will ever need to.
__________________
A good firearm, is the one that puts food on the table.
fgutie35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 16:58   #8
Sgt. Schultz
Annoying Member
 
Sgt. Schultz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: West Columbia, South Carolina
Posts: 2,814
Quote:
Originally Posted by RDW View Post
How can I change/remove the admin account.

I do have acess to the admin account (I have the password).

It's just a "pain on the ass" to have to log on as the admin to add/remove programs etc.

Google was not my friend this time!

Thanx in advance.
Had the same problem many moons ago, for W2K you need to use the secondary Logon service ...

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/l.../bb742511.aspx
__________________
Sgt. Schultz

"I have come here to chew bubble gum and kick ass ... and I'm all out of bubble gum"
Sgt. Schultz is offline   Reply With Quote

 
  
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 19:07.




Homepage
FAQ
Forums
Calendar
Advertise
Gallery
GT Wiki
GT Blogs
Social Groups
Classifieds


Users Currently Online: 1,099
329 Members
770 Guests

Most users ever online: 2,672
Aug 11, 2014 at 2:31