SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 04-16-2010, 11:49   #1
PCJim

W231 for 40S&W: Lyman's loading is questioned

Fellas,

I've used the search function going back to 2007 to try to find some answers to my question below. I'm looking for some help from anyone who has used W231 under 180gr JHPs in 40S&W.

As several know, I'm new to the 40S&W. I am working up some various loadings with the powders I have on hand to get a feel for what I load for this caliber. Fred has given me some good recommendations using WSF and I've made 3 sets of test batchs in that powder. I will also be working with Unique, TiteGroup and W231. It is the W231 published loads that are giving me concern. And while I already know W231 is not an ideal powder for the caliber, I do want to develop some loading data for use if more suitable powders are not readily available.

The below data is what I have found listed for W213 under a 180gr JHP:
Lyman #48: 5.0-5.6gr
Handloads.com: 4.5-5.0 (internet database, questionable)
Speer: no listing for W231
Winchester: 4.1-5.0 (Hornady XTP bullet)

The Lyman/Winchester suggested loadings represent a wide diversity for the powder, especially since Winchester, the manufacturer of W231, lists such a low loading. I am not aware of any major construction or surface bearing differences that XTP bullets have over other JHPs. (I'm loading Zero brand 180s.)

Has anyone used W231 under 180 JHPs and, if so, would you please comment regarding your findings as compared to the above published loadings?

Many thanks in advance.
Jim
PCJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2010, 12:38   #2
MarcusT

I use 5.4 gr of 231 under a 180gr FMJ and it works great.
MarcusT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2010, 12:46   #3
billy396

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarcusT View Post
I use 5.4 gr of 231 under a 180gr FMJ and it works great.