GlockTalk.com
Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups



  
SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-24-2010, 15:59   #1
aggiekcc
Lifetime Membership
Member
 
aggiekcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 47
Another Newb reloading question

Hello all,
Got a quick question before I actually load my first 10mm rounds. I have the turret mounted and got the dies set to produce 1.26 OAL 180 gr rounds. I just finished double and triple checking my powder drop from the Lee Auto Disk for 5.4-5.5 gr Titegroup powder and I think everything is ready to go except....I pull out my brand new Starline brass and maybe have a dumb question.

With new brass do you need to put it thru the sizing die/ decap? I know it doesn't need the old primer removed but didn't know if I need to make sure and true the brass. Also, do you need any type of lube if using the Lee carbide dies? I read that some say no lube needed but then others say yes. All the info is appreciated.
__________________
"Now, I don't wanna kill you, and you don't wanna be dead." - Mal Johnson, Silverado

G20L, G29, Ruger LCP w/ Crimson Trace, YHM-Vltor-Spikes Tactical AR-15
aggiekcc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2010, 17:34   #2
Whaledriver
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kansas
Posts: 176
Answers to your most commonly asked questions regarding reloading of new brass.
Does one need to full-length size brass prior to loading?

Generally speaking, Starline cases require no resizing prior to loading. Due to variances in diameter of different bullet types, it is a good practice to size the case only as far down as the bullet seating depth. When full length sizing is required, it will be noted in the box with the brass. The only Starline case that requires full sizing is the 454 Casull.
Whaledriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2010, 19:12   #3
Snapper2
Senior Member
 
Snapper2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: s.east Texas
Posts: 2,254
Quote:
Originally Posted by aggiekcc View Post
Hello all,
Got a quick question before I actually load my first 10mm rounds. I have the turret mounted and got the dies set to produce 1.26 OAL 180 gr rounds. I just finished double and triple checking my powder drop from the Lee Auto Disk for 5.4-5.5 gr Titegroup powder and I think everything is ready to go except....I pull out my brand new Starline brass and maybe have a dumb question.

With new brass do you need to put it thru the sizing die/ decap? I know it doesn't need the old primer removed but didn't know if I need to make sure and true the brass. Also, do you need any type of lube if using the Lee carbide dies? I read that some say no lube needed but then others say yes. All the info is appreciated.
I've been full length sizing new brass to ensure better bullet/case tension and make it harder for bullet to get setback. Then only removing flare on the crimp on a separate die. When using 200gr xtp I've had to use a Lyman m expander die to keep from deforming the hollow point, but for full metal jacket bullets a slight flare works.
Snapper2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2010, 23:26   #4
_The_Shadow
Ret. Fireman
 
_The_Shadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Southeast, LoUiSiAna
Posts: 4,139
I size my new cases also for unifority, this provides an inspection at this step, an insures the flash holes are open and not plugged with any forien materials such as tumbling media. I always seat and taper crimp in seperate steps...adds to the reliable functioning process.

Load'em up man!
__________________
Southeast, LoUiSiAna
NRA Life Member
BASS Life Member

Last edited by _The_Shadow; 04-24-2010 at 23:26..
_The_Shadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2010, 07:53   #5
aggiekcc
Lifetime Membership
Member
 
aggiekcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 47
Thanks again for the responses. Do you need to use case lube if you are using Lee carbide dies?
__________________
"Now, I don't wanna kill you, and you don't wanna be dead." - Mal Johnson, Silverado

G20L, G29, Ruger LCP w/ Crimson Trace, YHM-Vltor-Spikes Tactical AR-15
aggiekcc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2010, 09:19   #6
Snapper2
Senior Member
 
Snapper2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: s.east Texas
Posts: 2,254
Quote:
Originally Posted by aggiekcc View Post
Thanks again for the responses. Do you need to use case lube if you are using Lee carbide dies?
I've been using Winchester brass lately and haven't lubed anything for carbide dies(lee). I do inspect the case mouth and lightly deburr if necessary. I also use a 40cal brass brush inside the brass before flaring and seating. Not that its necessary. I 've been cleaning my carbide sizing die with q tips and rubbing alcohol.

PS. I use to have a bull-mastiff named Aggie(aggravated assault)
Snapper2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:09.



Homepage
FAQ
Forums
Calendar
Advertise
Gallery
GT Wiki
GT Blogs
Social Groups
Classifieds


Users Currently Online: 729
180 Members
549 Guests

Most users ever online: 2,244
Nov 11, 2013 at 11:42