Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups

SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 06-01-2010, 10:38   #1
SimonovsDog

Define the term "Smiley" regarding reloading

I've been reloading for about 6 months now. I've done alot of research and note taking long before I loaded my first round. I keep seeing the term "smiley" in regards to reloading. What exactly is a "smiley" and what causes it? I have been assuming it was the dent in the side of a case caused from ejection. If this is the so called "smiley", how is it bad, and how does one keep it from occuring when reloading?
SimonovsDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2010, 11:14   #2
_The_Shadow
Ret. Fireman

The "Smiley" is formed from the expanding cartridge case which is starting to shear/tear the it self apart in the areas which lack case support, namely the feed ramp of the barrel. This area which lacks support allows the case on high pressure rounds to expand to the point of case head seperation if the presses are high enough. Some cases have blown out due to this lack of support which has bled a high pressure jet of expanding propellent gas to blow in to the magazine well and the openings of the trigger gaurd. When this happens the shooter can be hurt and the magazine can pe blown out from the well and in some cases the frames can suffer damage as well.

Click link below to see "smilley"
http://glocktalk.com/forums/attachme...5&d=1269927105

If you have any cases like the one in the picture...DO NOT ATEMPT TO RELOAD IT!, it has been compromised. Not even the "pushthru dies" will help to correct this...reloading and shooting this case can cause it to have a total case head seperation.

Why? Because the brass has started to shear as it stretched due to the unsupported area. Pushing it back into place will not help the molecular structure.