GlockTalk.com
Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups



  
SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

 
  
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-09-2010, 06:40   #1
MavsX
The Dude Abides
 
MavsX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 3,033
DNS Scavenging

Anybody know anything about DNS Scavenging? We are having some real problems here at work with DNS being wrong. I've heard that if you botch it, it can really funk up active directory. So I'm hesitant to do anything. Any ideas?
__________________
Glock 22 .40 S&W
CMMG M4 LEP II
Mossberg 500 Mariner

Last edited by MavsX; 06-09-2010 at 06:41..
MavsX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 08:20   #2
Linux3
Senior Member
 
Linux3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,399
Did you see:
http://blogs.technet.com/b/networkin...e-patient.aspx

By the way the problem that MS refers to in RFC 2136 is only a problem with Windows servers. Kind of like they are asking for thanks for fixing their own problems.
__________________
It it's not on fire,
It's a software problem.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
Linux3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 09:26   #3
MavsX
The Dude Abides
 
MavsX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 3,033
thanks L3 for the link. I'm going to start reviewing this and seeing what i can get done.
__________________
Glock 22 .40 S&W
CMMG M4 LEP II
Mossberg 500 Mariner
MavsX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2010, 10:43   #4
KevinFACE
Senior Member
 
KevinFACE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,149
AD and Exchange are HEAVILY reliant on DNS, if you screw it up.. you WILL have problems, flat out.. no ifs ands or buts.

I highly suggest you plan before acting.
KevinFACE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2010, 21:35   #5
KharToon
Senior Member
 
KharToon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 988
What are the symptoms of the problem?
__________________
Kahr PM9
Kahr P380
Sig P229 SAS Gen 2 2Tone
Glock 19 Gen 4
Stag Arms Stag-15 Model 2TL 5.56mm Carbine
KharToon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2010, 11:35   #6
MavsX
The Dude Abides
 
MavsX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 3,033
dns remembers everything. can't remote in to workstations sometimes because dns thinks the machines are in the wrong subnet, etc.
__________________
Glock 22 .40 S&W
CMMG M4 LEP II
Mossberg 500 Mariner
MavsX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2010, 12:58   #7
KharToon
Senior Member
 
KharToon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 988
Quote:
Originally Posted by MavsX View Post
dns remembers everything. can't remote in to workstations sometimes because dns thinks the machines are in the wrong subnet, etc.
Are you the windows admin? Is this happening from every workstation?

First thing I would check is that the dc is pointed to itself for DNS in tcp/ip

Then make sure that all networks that are in use are tied to an ad site.

Then clear the dns cache on the dns server

Then clear the cache on the workstations
__________________
Kahr PM9
Kahr P380
Sig P229 SAS Gen 2 2Tone
Glock 19 Gen 4
Stag Arms Stag-15 Model 2TL 5.56mm Carbine
KharToon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2010, 13:16   #8
RTmarc
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 76
Enable scavenging and set to 7 days. It's not as big of a deal as some people are trying to make it. Just make sure that your DCs and Exchange servers are using static IPs. If you feel so inclined, add static DNS entries for sensitive servers.

Last edited by RTmarc; 06-16-2010 at 13:18..
RTmarc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2010, 13:24   #9
MavsX
The Dude Abides
 
MavsX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 3,033
for the most part our workstations stay put where they are supposed to be. all servers are statics. Sometimes i have to bring a computer into the tech bench which is in a different subnet that the workstation subnets. dns remembers all. Which, once i throw the new computer or whatever back into the original subnet then i have 2 entries for the same machine, and then i can't do anything remote wise to it.

i has helped to go into the dns lookup zones and manually delete the objects. But, it;s just a pain in the ass.

luckily most of our machines don;t move too much.
__________________
Glock 22 .40 S&W
CMMG M4 LEP II
Mossberg 500 Mariner
MavsX is offline   Reply With Quote

 
  
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 23:52.




Homepage
FAQ
Forums
Calendar
Advertise
Gallery
GT Wiki
GT Blogs
Social Groups
Classifieds


Users Currently Online: 878
216 Members
662 Guests

Most users ever online: 2,672
Aug 11, 2014 at 2:31