GlockTalk.com
Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups



  
SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

 
  
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-29-2010, 21:53   #1
Gulfcop
Glockaholic
 
Gulfcop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 437
My desktop computer won't boot up. Ideas?

The other day I shut down my desk top computer.I went to boot it up the following morning. The computer would not get past the first screen which is an ASUS screen. The two times I finally got past that I got a blue screen. The blue screen error said something about a page error. I have no idea whats wrong with it.

I have windows Vist 32bit as the os.

are there any ideas? I am on my laptop.

I just tried the boot up again in safe mode and got Page_FAULT_IN_ NONPAGED_AREA in the blue screen. That error shuts down windows. I have no idea whats going on.
__________________
"Courage is being scared to death and saddling up anyway"
John Wayne
Gulfcop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2010, 21:56   #2
IndyGunFreak
KO Windows
 
IndyGunFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Indiana
Posts: 30,143
Send a message via ICQ to IndyGunFreak Send a message via AIM to IndyGunFreak Send a message via MSN to IndyGunFreak Send a message via Yahoo to IndyGunFreak Send a message via Skype™ to IndyGunFreak


http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/l.../cc957625.aspx
__________________
Quote:
Ronald Reagan
"If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under."
"Man is not free unless Government is limited"
IndyGunFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2010, 21:59   #3
IndyGunFreak
KO Windows
 
IndyGunFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Indiana
Posts: 30,143
Send a message via ICQ to IndyGunFreak Send a message via AIM to IndyGunFreak Send a message via MSN to IndyGunFreak Send a message via Yahoo to IndyGunFreak Send a message via Skype™ to IndyGunFreak


Do you have a program on your computer called NetLimiter? Just doing some googling, it seems to be responsible for that error quite a bit.

IGF
__________________
Quote:
Ronald Reagan
"If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under."
"Man is not free unless Government is limited"
IndyGunFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2010, 22:04   #4
Gulfcop
Glockaholic
 
Gulfcop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 437
Not sure about that. I can't get into the system at all. The first screen that comes up has press the delete key to access setup or Tab to access bios post message. I press either of them and nothing happens. I tried F8 like that link you posted says to to and it does nothing.
__________________
"Courage is being scared to death and saddling up anyway"
John Wayne
Gulfcop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2010, 22:17   #5
IndyGunFreak
KO Windows
 
IndyGunFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Indiana
Posts: 30,143
Send a message via ICQ to IndyGunFreak Send a message via AIM to IndyGunFreak Send a message via MSN to IndyGunFreak Send a message via Yahoo to IndyGunFreak Send a message via Skype™ to IndyGunFreak


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gulfcop View Post
Not sure about that. I can't get into the system at all. The first screen that comes up has press the delete key to access setup or Tab to access bios post message. I press either of them and nothing happens. I tried F8 like that link you posted says to to and it does nothing.
This strongly suggests hardware...

Are you comfortable opening up your PC? I'm guessing 1(or both) of your Memory modules have croaked, or possibly some video ram ate it...

If you can open up the case, remove one RAM module(assuming you have two).. and try to boot the machine with just one. If you get the same error, reinsert the one you pulled, and pull the other one.... Pay attention to static, make sure your machine is off and unplugged, etc.
__________________
Quote:
Ronald Reagan
"If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under."
"Man is not free unless Government is limited"
IndyGunFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2010, 22:18   #6
Gulfcop
Glockaholic
 
Gulfcop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 437
Good News

I noticed the key board seemed to have no power. I took it off and put on an old extra keyboard I had and it booted. I wonder if the keyboard went bad somehow?
__________________
"Courage is being scared to death and saddling up anyway"
John Wayne
Gulfcop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2010, 22:23   #7
IndyGunFreak
KO Windows
 
IndyGunFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Indiana
Posts: 30,143
Send a message via ICQ to IndyGunFreak Send a message via AIM to IndyGunFreak Send a message via MSN to IndyGunFreak Send a message via Yahoo to IndyGunFreak Send a message via Skype™ to IndyGunFreak


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gulfcop View Post
I noticed the key board seemed to have no power. I took it off and put on an old extra keyboard I had and it booted. I wonder if the keyboard went bad somehow?
Boy that is strange.. usually you'll get a Keyboard fault at the boot screen before it causes some funky blue screen...

It might have been the keyboard(just seems really unlikely to me).. if you've plugged in another keyboard and it's working.. shut the PC down, unplug the working keyboard, and plug in the other one, and boot up again, and see if it doesn't boot... That would narrow it down pretty quickly.

IGF
__________________
Quote:
Ronald Reagan
"If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under."
"Man is not free unless Government is limited"
IndyGunFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2010, 22:35   #8
Gulfcop
Glockaholic
 
Gulfcop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 437
Well my desktop is up and running. I am posting from it right now. Freaking weird, I replace the keyboard with a different one and it seems I am good to go!

Thanks for your help........

on a side note I checked the problem reports and it lists nothing in there under the windows error area. This is really weird.............
__________________
"Courage is being scared to death and saddling up anyway"
John Wayne

Last edited by Gulfcop; 06-29-2010 at 22:40..
Gulfcop is offline   Reply With Quote

 
  
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:14.




Homepage
FAQ
Forums
Calendar
Advertise
Gallery
GT Wiki
GT Blogs
Social Groups
Classifieds


Users Currently Online: 943
230 Members
713 Guests

Most users ever online: 2,244
Nov 11, 2013 at 16:42