SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 08-08-2010, 13:18   #1
CTfam
DREAM BIG.

AK-74 vs VZ-58 Help me choose!

I need to make a decision here and I'm torn between these two. This will be my go to rifle for everything from HD, SHTF, Zombies, UFOs, Rise of the fourth Reich, etc...

I am familiar with the AK and I love the platform. I don't know much about the 5.45 round other than the surplus is cheap right now and supposedly it makes some nasty wounds in soft targets. Here in CT I can't own an AK-47 in 7.62x39mm.

The VZ-58 looks like a great rifle and I prefer the 7.62x39mm. Everyone who owns one seems to love it but I have no experience with it.

Parts and ammo availability isn't an issue for me. Whatever I choose I will be stocking up on plenty of ammo and mags. The VZ looks to be the better rifle but for the price of one Czechpoint VZ I can purchase an AK-74, ten mags and 4K rounds of 7N6. There is something to be said for that.

What would you choose and why?
Old 08-08-2010, 13:31   #2
mikeyU

One now and one later. I like both calibers for different reasons. I would grab an Arsenal SGL-31 for your 74.
mikeyU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2010, 13:38   #3
CTfam
DREAM BIG.

They look nice. Only thing is I can't have any muzzle brake or bayonet lug. I would just convert a Saiga.
Old 08-08-2010, 16:32   #4
digilo

Quote:
Originally Posted by CTfam View Post
I would just convert a Saiga.
A big Plus One. I have a 5.45 Saiga and love it. Plus, you can convert it a little at a time, as you get funds.
Old 08-08-2010, 16:37   #5
Aceman

FOr pure sudden total emergency - I gotta go with the AK-74. Ammo and mags for the price is the first issue, and then it's everything else.

The VZ is the infinitely cooler, hipper, better weapon IMO (never shot one for the record), however, it's a rare bird. I love 7.62x39 for all kinds of reason over gopher round guns....but they are effective.

VZ is the gun to own after your first AK.