SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 09-01-2010, 14:51   #1
Boxerglocker
Jacks #1 Fan

Hollow back bullets, .45 ACP

Just got some Bear Creek hollow back 200g bullets in .45 ACP to try out in my Kimber.

The plan is to stick with WST, as this is a moly coated LRN.

Range load 4.5 - 5.0 at 1.25 OAL based on this Hodgon data

Bullet Weight (Gr.) Manufacturer Powder Bullet Dia.
200 GR. CAST LSWC Winchester WST .451"

C.O.L. Grs. Vel. (ft/s) Pressure Grs. Vel. (ft/s) Pressure
1.225" 4.4 830 15,400 CUP 5.1 910 19,900

Anyone have any experience with these bullets? What about the COL, does the hollow back affect pressures/velocities drastically.
&
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
BLUE Kool-aid drinking team member
Boxerglocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 15:57   #2
PCJim

Boxer, I've no experience with that particular bullet. Just thinking about the design, I would think that max pressure would increase slightly. The design extends the sides while providing a concave base to compensate. Total weight remains neutral. However, those extended sides will create more friction against the bore, thus creating additional pressure.

How much, who knows? You will though after you chronograph the rounds. Let us know, as I'm curious myself. I was recently sent a sample of a new 9mm projectile design for testing from one of the suppliers that I use. It also has a hollow base design. I haven't yet had the opportunity to get the Chrony out to field test them.

Last edited by PCJim; 09-01-2010 at 15:57..
PCJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 16:08   #3
squirreld

let us know how they shoot.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.

Part 1

Part 2
squirreld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 16:37   #4
fredj338

Quote:
Originally Posted by PCJim View Post