Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups

SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 10-17-2010, 19:11   #1
Tvov

20g slug for deer

I did a quick search, and read through some old threads.

A friend has invited me up to his deer camp this fall to hunt. I am a newbie at hunting, but have been shooting for a while.

I have a 20g Winchester Ranger pump gun, smooth bore, with a screw in Improved Cylinder choke. Is it okay to shoot slugs through that? Are rifled slugs okay to shoot through that?

I don't really want to invest in a "slug barrel" unless I know I will continue hunting. I am hoping to use my shotgun "as is" for now.

Asking some friends who hunt, the responses run the gamut from "no way! You need to get dedicated deer gun!" to "no problem, it'll drop them".

Thanks for the responses.
Tvov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2010, 19:26   #2
CC Glock

I would leave the choke out but thats just me. At the right range and the right shot placement the the round will kill a deer. Just make sure the leg is foward so the vitals are exposed. Good luck brother
Old 10-17-2010, 20:28   #3
K.Kiser

Give it an accuracy test with and without the choke, four or five test rounds each... The slug with good placement will certainly make a clean kill on a deer, just keep the shots short and avoid and big bone joints... A good lung shot is a done deal on any deer...
K.Kiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2010, 20:55   #4
vafish

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tvov View Post
I did a quick search, and read through some old threads.

A friend has invited me up to his deer camp this fall to hunt. I am a newbie at hunting, but have been shooting for a while.

I have a 20g Winchester Ranger pump gun, smooth bore, with a screw in Improved Cylinder choke. Is it okay to shoot slugs through that? Are rifled slugs okay to shoot through that?