Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups

SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 11-15-2010, 12:01   #1
GlockMonk

Case trimmer for 44 mag.

Howdy all, I'm just getting into reloading the 44 mag for my Ruger Redhawk with a 5.5 inch barrel.

I'm using Missouri Bullet Company's 240gr Keith bullets at 18 brinnell, Alliant 2400, Winchester LPP, and assorted once fired brass.

The once fired brass that I've collected so far all vary in case lengths. I'm thinking, it might create a problem when I seat the bullet, as the case must be crimped exactly at the cannelure of the bullet. And the cannelure may not line up exactly with the case mouth, since the brass varies in length.

If so which economical trimmer do you recommend. I'll only be reloading about 100 rounds at a time, so high volume is not neccessary.

Thanks in advance,

GlockMonk
GlockMonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2010, 12:50   #2
frankt

If you want to trim them, I would recommend the Lee hand held case trimmer and .44 case length gauge.

I can also tell you that in 30+ years of reloading I have never trimmed any pistol case.

Good Luck

Semper Fi
frankt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2010, 15:04   #3
Boxerglocker
Jacks #1 Fan

Hey Pye, How's it going?
&
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
BLUE Kool-aid drinking team member
Boxerglocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2010, 16:21   #4
Uncle Don
Wood butcher

I'm with Frankt - there are a whole lot of things in reloading in which require or you can befefit from detail, but trimming handgun cases is not one of them. Any amount of time you spend doing that is time you'll never get back.
Uncle Don is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2010, 16:30   #5
GLShooter

Send a message via AIM to GLShooter