GlockTalk.com
Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups



  
SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

 
  
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-04-2010, 19:46   #1
srhoades
Senior Member
 
srhoades's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 4,573
Shameless plug for Acronis backup

I've been using it to clone drives for the last 3 years and within the last 2 started using it to make weekly full backups and nightly differentials to another hard drive in my system. With the black Friday's deals too good to pass up, I decided to get 2 1TB hard drives to replace my aging 250GB drives that I have setup as a raid mirror.

Swapping the drives went without a hitch, but I could not find any free software to extend my RAID partition beyond the original 250GB. Since I still had the old drives in the same working order I said what the heck. I made a current differential backup, rebooted, blasted the old RAID mirror, created a new one to accommodate the 1TB drives, and booted from the Acronis CD and did a restore.

Whole process took about 45 minutes and my system is exactly how it was. Couldn't be happier.

Last edited by srhoades; 12-04-2010 at 20:03..
srhoades is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 20:30   #2
Pierre!
NRA Life Member
 
Pierre!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Lovin Sparks Nv!
Posts: 4,151
So the Acronis had no issues with the RAID 1???

Glad to hear that!

I wouldn't mind adding a 'Bare Metal' restore to my arsenal!!!

Thanks for the feedback!
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.


Download YOUR copy of
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.

My Gift to You, AND it's >FREE<
Pierre! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 20:47   #3
srhoades
Senior Member
 
srhoades's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 4,573
I believe you have to get the plus pack to support RAID but it was flawless, recognized only the mirror, not the individual disks in the mirror. I still don't care for the new GUI in 2011 but it's a minor issue.

Last edited by srhoades; 12-04-2010 at 20:48..
srhoades is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 19:27   #4
filthy infidel
100% Infidel
 
filthy infidel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,751
Acronis 2009 would NOT clone a mirrored drive on a client's server. We had to purchase Acronis Server 2011 ($800) to do same. This was on a Windows Server 2003 machine.
__________________
Build a man a fire and he'll be warm the rest of the day. Set a man on fire, he'll be warm the rest of his life.
filthy infidel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 20:21   #5
Pierre!
NRA Life Member
 
Pierre!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Lovin Sparks Nv!
Posts: 4,151
Quote:
Originally Posted by filthy infidel View Post
Acronis 2009 would NOT clone a mirrored drive on a client's server. We had to purchase Acronis Server 2011 ($800) to do same. This was on a Windows Server 2003 machine.
That is kinda what I was thinking, but I wonder if the non-server OS will clone, but they *STICK* you for the Server OS...

I will be checking the TOS for sure on this prior to the purchase!
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.


Download YOUR copy of
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.

My Gift to You, AND it's >FREE<
Pierre! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 21:27   #6
Glock!9
Senior Member
 
Glock!9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 3,264
Send a message via AIM to Glock!9
I use it integrated with Kaseya and have been able to run bare metal restores on servers succesfully
__________________
"Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt."
Glock!9 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 22:43   #7
srhoades
Senior Member
 
srhoades's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 4,573
The one thing I really like about the newer version (maybe you could do it in the older one but I never looked it up) is that you can backup and restore from a NAS. The acronis bootable CD is just a linux live distro so it has full network support.
srhoades is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 22:46   #8
Goodspeed(TPF)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sh
Posts: 903
I use it as well. Very nice proggy.
Goodspeed(TPF) is offline   Reply With Quote

 
  
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 20:05.




Homepage
FAQ
Forums
Calendar
Advertise
Gallery
GT Wiki
GT Blogs
Social Groups
Classifieds


Users Currently Online: 1,502
411 Members
1,091 Guests

Most users ever online: 2,244
Nov 11, 2013 at 16:42