Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups



  
SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

 
  
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-24-2010, 18:44   #1
alfred10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,163
LaRue Tactical EOTech QD Mount LT-110 do I need one?

Will the factory Eotech with the two throw levers that comes on the Eotech and the Acog scope with the two turn screws hold a zero if you take it off and put it on?

I am moving away from AR's and want to run my Eotech on my Shotgun. Sig 556, Ak 47 side rail mount etc. Does the Larue or like mount hold a zero better than the factory eotech set up? Do I need it for the primary zero holding purpose?

How about for an ACOG? Do I need a mount to put between the Ak side rail mount and scope to hold a better zero?
alfred10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2010, 19:04   #2
faawrenchbndr
CLM Number 281
The Dude Abides
 
faawrenchbndr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: east of East St. Louis
Posts: 33,564
Normally,.......nothing that I've used, OTHER than a Larue Tactical mount,
seems to return to zero.

Last edited by faawrenchbndr; 12-24-2010 at 19:05..
faawrenchbndr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2010, 20:15   #3
alfred10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,163
So running a La Rue with an eotech is better than just running an eotech? I want to keep it as low as possible b.c out of the box eye relief and sight height is perfect for me.
alfred10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2010, 20:20   #4
NeverMore1701
Platinum Membership
Fear no evil.
 
NeverMore1701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Amarillo, Tx
Posts: 30,364
Just leave the EOTech on and don't worry about it.
__________________
And if we should die tonight
We should all die together
Raise a glass of wine
For the last time
NeverMore1701 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2010, 20:25   #5
alfred10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,163
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverMore1701 View Post
Just leave the EOTech on and don't worry about it.
I have to take the side rail off to get my dust cover back on my ak. I have the 35.00 UTG mount but thought I would upgrade so I dont have to worry about my zero.
alfred10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2010, 20:46   #6
Bushflyr
ʇno uıƃuɐɥ ʇsnɾ
 
Bushflyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Western WA
Posts: 4,465
Don't waste your money on a Larue then. One, it's an AK. Two, if you're removing and replacing the rail it's likely going to shift your zero anyway. Not sure which rail you're using, but if you can just leave the EO on the rail and take it off as a unit.
__________________
...the secret is to bang the rocks together, guys.

That which does not kill you has made a tactical error. --Tayler
Bushflyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2010, 05:05   #7
faawrenchbndr
CLM Number 281
The Dude Abides
 
faawrenchbndr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: east of East St. Louis
Posts: 33,564
Oops,.......missed the fact OP asked about other rifles.


Complete different story,........if your EoTech has the levers it will be fine.

Last edited by faawrenchbndr; 12-25-2010 at 05:07..
faawrenchbndr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2010, 05:17   #8
G27RR
Senior Member
 
G27RR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 609
I have the LaRue on an XPS and it holds zero well for a single rifle, provided that there's nothing wrong with the rail on the rifle. As the previous poster mentioned, having to remove your rail would potentially change your zero with or without a LaRue mount.

If you're switching between rifles, they won't have the same zero so you'd need to change windage/elevation each time you switched rifles.

Last edited by G27RR; 12-25-2010 at 05:20..
G27RR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2010, 05:36   #9
12131
CLM Number 101
Monkeyboy
 
12131's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: God's Country (Texas)
Posts: 11,073
Quote:
LaRue Tactical EOTech QD Mount LT-110 do I need one?
No, you don't.
__________________
NRA Lifer, GOA Lifer, SAF Lifer
Commie libs, criminals, and sheeple love gun control. It's easier to blame inanimate objects than the killers themselves.
Andrew Cuomo & Michael Bloomberg = Friends of criminals

Politicians and judges who voted for, and supported, Obamacare are traitors to the country!
Con, the first 3 letters in Congress.
UN, the first 2 letters in UNnecessary.
12131 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2010, 09:13   #10
MrMurphy
Lifetime Membership
*********
 
MrMurphy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Buried in the X-files
Posts: 31,702
Normally, your blatant stupidity would cause an instant lock. But since this question is both down my alley and may actually prevent others from doing dumb things, it will survive.

The LT110 mount only works on standard height Eotechs. XPS, 511, 512, 552, etc. If you have throwlevers, you have a 7mm-taller model, like a 553.

Far be it from you to read the fine print where the webpage for the LT110 specifically tells you this. Oh no! Of course not.

Mounting an Eotech on a shotgun is one of the dumber things you can do, as they are recoil sensitive and shotguns generate far more recoil than a 5.56mm.

Have fun getting a black eye or worse when you use a thousand dollar scope whose ballistics are matched to 5.56mm with a 1.3" eye relief on a harder kicking rifle with no matchable ballistics and very little accuracy. And yes, the LT100 and LT105 mounts may hold zero, but you sure as hell won't.
__________________
"And Shepherds we shall be. For thee, my Lord for thee. Power hath descended forth from thy hand, that our feet may swiftly carry out thy command. So we shall flow a river forth to thee and teeming with souls shall it ever be. In nomine Patris, et fili, et Spiritus Sancti. Amen."

Last edited by MrMurphy; 12-25-2010 at 09:14..
MrMurphy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2010, 09:25   #11
Palmguy
Boom.
 
Palmguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: NW FL
Posts: 2,229
Quote:
Originally Posted by alfred10 View Post
So running a La Rue with an eotech is better than just running an eotech? I want to keep it as low as possible b.c out of the box eye relief and sight height is perfect for me.
Palmguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2010, 09:25   #12
NeverMore1701
Platinum Membership
Fear no evil.
 
NeverMore1701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Amarillo, Tx
Posts: 30,364
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrMurphy View Post
Normally, your blatant stupidity would cause an instant lock. But since this question is both down my alley and may actually prevent others from doing dumb things, it will survive.

The LT110 mount only works on standard height Eotechs. XPS, 511, 512, 552, etc. If you have throwlevers, you have a 7mm-taller model, like a 553.

Far be it from you to read the fine print where the webpage for the LT110 specifically tells you this. Oh no! Of course not.

Mounting an Eotech on a shotgun is one of the dumber things you can do, as they are recoil sensitive and shotguns generate far more recoil than a 5.56mm.

Have fun getting a black eye or worse when you use a thousand dollar scope whose ballistics are matched to 5.56mm with a 1.3" eye relief on a harder kicking rifle with no matchable ballistics and very little accuracy. And yes, the LT100 and LT105 mounts may hold zero, but you sure as hell won't.

I think that was one of the best presents I've gotten so far this Christmas!
__________________
And if we should die tonight
We should all die together
Raise a glass of wine
For the last time
NeverMore1701 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2010, 09:36   #13
mjkeat
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Midwest
Posts: 3,450
The ARFcom BS is spreading. Lighten up.
mjkeat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2010, 22:02   #14
MrMurphy
Lifetime Membership
*********
 
MrMurphy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Buried in the X-files
Posts: 31,702
I'm stemming the tide. One idiot at a time.
__________________
"And Shepherds we shall be. For thee, my Lord for thee. Power hath descended forth from thy hand, that our feet may swiftly carry out thy command. So we shall flow a river forth to thee and teeming with souls shall it ever be. In nomine Patris, et fili, et Spiritus Sancti. Amen."
MrMurphy is offline   Reply With Quote

 
  
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 00:36.




Homepage
FAQ
Forums
Calendar
Advertise
Gallery
GT Wiki
GT Blogs
Social Groups
Classifieds


Users Currently Online: 979
177 Members
802 Guests

Most users ever online: 2,672
Aug 11, 2014 at 2:31