Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups

SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 01-16-2011, 12:00   #1
edog40

Hunting rifle advice

Im new to hunting, but not to rifles. I served eight years in the Army, so I know my way around those types of rifles. Never hunted before.

Im planning a hunting trip for next season, with other experienced hunters, and want to go for black bear. What caliber of rifle is good for that? Also, what type of ammo?
Im not into overkill, I want the hide and the meat, and have no desire to call in a missle strike to get it.
Advice, please.
edog40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 12:53   #2
pennlineman

Hard to go wrong with a bolt action chambered in .30-06. For black bear I'd use 165-180 grain bullets. I like the Remington model 700. Lots of guys like the Savage, either way you are well armed.

Good luck!
pennlineman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 22:19   #3
dbarry

+1 on pennlineman's choice of rifle & caliber. Love the 30-06. 700 is a great platform. I've got a tikka in 30-06 w/ a 3.5 lb trigger - excellent/accurate rifle. Thanks for your service to our country!
dbarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 15:06   #4
Esox357

Remington or Tikka in any of the usual deer cartridges will work. 30.06 is what I use for all my hunting in the U.S. Esox357.
Old 01-17-2011, 17:45   #5
gjk5
Pinche Gringo

Good old -06 will do the job. I am partial to the new (non-edge) Savages.
gjk5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 20:14   #6
vafish

Don't want to sound like a broken record, but the .30-06 is probably one of the best all around big game hunting rifles on the planet.

Got enough power to take anything, but not too much recoil.

If you are just getting the rifle for bear hunting you may also want to consider a .35 Whelen. It's a .30-06 necked up to .35 caliber, fires a bit heavier bullet, but still won't beat you to death like a .338 Magnum will.