Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups

SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 01-29-2011, 00:09   #1
Killaton

Soon off to basic.

I am soon going off to basic training for the USAF and I was just wondering if anyone had a couple of pointers. My job will be firefighter when I am out of basic and off to Goodfellow AFB for tech school. I will be pretty much the oldest man there at basic since I am 27 years old, but at least I have been working as a firefighter now since 2006. I worked for cal fire and already have my fire academy under my belt. I would appreciate any information. Thanks.
Killaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2011, 00:58   #2
BMH
Lifetime Membership

Congradulations! I never served, but the advice given to me to pass on to my buddy going into the military was:

Never volunteer for anything & Never smile!
Old 01-29-2011, 01:42   #3
Killaton

I have heard thanks. My twin brother was a Marine for 5 years so I somewhat know, but that's marines no air force lol.
Old 01-29-2011, 10:42   #4
meeko

I went through in Lackland in 1986 and I know some things have changed. My son in law went through in 2007 and one thing that hasn't is "Do not do anything more than the TI asks and do not do anything less than the TI asks" No matter what your education is it is BASIC Training and they want you to be able to follow SIMPLE instructions. Then they will build on that and as your rank increases after BMT you can make a decisions and think outside the box so to speak.

Good luck
meeko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2011, 11:31   #5
MrMurphy
Lifetime Membership

When you get off the bus, find a tall and/or goofy looking guy to stand next to. If you're tall you're stuck. Someone goofy/tall/odd looking will take the heat during the initial "shark attack".