GlockTalk.com
Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups



  
SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-01-2011, 21:25   #1
Brian0128
Senior Member
 
Brian0128's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 256
Send a message via AIM to Brian0128 Send a message via Yahoo to Brian0128


Ethernet / network card problems

I've got an older HP Slimline 3020n that I was having problems with due to a virus. I restored it to the factory condition using system restore. Now, the wireless card works but the ethernet connection isn't working. I did some searching online and there is a known issue with this happening and it said to update windows, so I installed all 55 updates and 1 of them was for my networking card.

Now, when I plug the ethernet cable into the back it doesn't blink like it does on my other desk top. I don't think it's recognizing the card. I called HP but they want 50 dollars to walk me through the troubleshooting. This is my mom's computer and she doesn't have wirless at her place so I'd really like to get this figured out so she doesn't come over to use the interet every day.


I went to Network and Internet Connections and checked the network connections. On my local area connection it says network cable unplugged, but the cable is plugged in. I kep getting "Plug a cable into the network adapter local area connection". It's at the computer side. I unplugged the cable and tried it in another computer and it lights up and works fine. But when I plug it in to the broken computer it doesn't light up. I was reading some posts on the net about it and it sounds like the networking card isn't recognized. I am running Windows Vista if that makes a difference.

I checked the drivers on the card and the computer says it is the most recent driver.

Any tips on how to troubleshoot this problem?
__________________
"There are no atheists in a foxhole"



.40 S&W Club #5555
Brian0128 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 07:18   #2
Pierre!
NRA Life Member
 
Pierre!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Lovin Sparks Nv!
Posts: 4,140
Here is what I would do...

Goto HP and check your computer make and model to confirm the manufacturer of the NIC

Uninstall the NIC drivers, delete the NICfrom your system in Computer Manager / Device Manager

Goto the NIC manufacturer's site, get the most recent drivers - install and test, then report back your findings.

Hope that helps...
__________________
The Seeber Consulting Blog

Download YOUR copy of Internet Safety Tips - "The Essentials"!
My Gift to You, AND it's >FREE<
Pierre! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 07:30   #3
gemeinschaft
AKA Fluffy316
 
gemeinschaft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4,603
Send a message via AIM to gemeinschaft Send a message via Yahoo to gemeinschaft Send a message via Skype™ to gemeinschaft
I would suggest

From CMD Prompt:

ping 127.0.0.1

Then post if you get a response.
__________________
Check my Photography Site at: http://fluffyshotme.com/
gemeinschaft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 09:58   #4
Brian0128
Senior Member
 
Brian0128's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 256
Send a message via AIM to Brian0128 Send a message via Yahoo to Brian0128


Quote:
Originally Posted by gemeinschaft View Post
I would suggest

From CMD Prompt:

ping 127.0.0.1

Then post if you get a response.
Ping statistics for ::1:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0
Approximate round trip times in milliseconds: Time < 1ms
__________________
"There are no atheists in a foxhole"



.40 S&W Club #5555
Brian0128 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 10:00   #5
Brian0128
Senior Member
 
Brian0128's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 256
Send a message via AIM to Brian0128 Send a message via Yahoo to Brian0128


Quote:
Originally Posted by Pierre! View Post
Here is what I would do...

Goto HP and check your computer make and model to confirm the manufacturer of the NIC

Uninstall the NIC drivers, delete the NICfrom your system in Computer Manager / Device Manager

Goto the NIC manufacturer's site, get the most recent drivers - install and test, then report back your findings.

Hope that helps...
I would like to try this, but I don't know how to uninstall drivers and then delete them.

I went into system settings and found the device mgr. I located network adaptors and there are 2. ONe for a NVIDIA nForce 10/100 Mbps Ethernet and the other is a USB Wireless Adaptor.

I went into advanced properties for the NVIDIA and went to properties.
Under General it says the device is working properly.
Under advanced, flow control is enabled, Interupt is enabled, Low power state link speed is enabled, Network Address is not present, Priority & VLAn says enabled, Speed / Duplex settings is on Auto Negotiation, VLAn ID is on 1, and Wake on is enabled.

Also, the driver is updated.

If I go to the top and click VIEW and then show hidden devices, a whole bunch of stuff shows up in the Network adapters column, and there are no yellow exclamation points next to any of it. Most of it is WAN Miniport stuff.
__________________
"There are no atheists in a foxhole"



.40 S&W Club #5555
Brian0128 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 23:13   #6
gemeinschaft
AKA Fluffy316
 
gemeinschaft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4,603
Send a message via AIM to gemeinschaft Send a message via Yahoo to gemeinschaft Send a message via Skype™ to gemeinschaft
I sent you a PM.
__________________
Check my Photography Site at: http://fluffyshotme.com/
gemeinschaft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 23:26   #7
HotRoderX
Gen4 BETATester
 
HotRoderX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,297
even if the proper driver isn't installed u should still be getting some lights on the network card which he isn't according to his post. Make sure the Cable is plugged in and solid into the back of the network card I seen Some issues in the past where the plastic protector on the network cables can cause plug in issues. If that don't help try a different network cable if you can. Also make sure the connector is plugged into the Router/Modem solidly and that the router modem is turned on. I know it sounds retarded but you be surprised how easy things can get unplugged and not noticed. If all else fails and the reinstalling the drivers and checking all the cable connections doesn't work It might be time to buy a new network card. Most built in Network cards are of a extremely cheap variety. If you do end up needing a new network card most electronics stores have them and some walmarts don't pay over 19bucks.
HotRoderX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:34.



Homepage
FAQ
Forums
Calendar
Advertise
Gallery
GT Wiki
GT Blogs
Social Groups
Classifieds


Users Currently Online: 1,167
363 Members
804 Guests

Most users ever online: 2,244
Nov 11, 2013 at 11:42