GlockTalk.com
Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups



  
SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-08-2011, 06:53   #1
OfficerChris
L.A. fanboy
 
OfficerChris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Schnitzelhausen
Posts: 7,501
Send a message via ICQ to OfficerChris
Cant open GT on netbook

I have quite an awkward problem for a day now.
Its not possible to open GT from my netbook. I get "Forbidden, you dont have permission to access forumdisplay.php. Additionally a 404 error encountered"

What the hell?

I am quite confident with computers, software and such things, but I have absolutely no idea where this comes from. Deleted the cookies, but it still doesnt work.
Made an opera update hours ago, but everything works fine, except for GT.
__________________
Pinki: "I don't think you want to get wild OC style"
Personal hero: Lawman800
Paint me a picture! (top left button)
OfficerChris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 10:00   #2
IndyGunFreak
RIP My Friends
 
IndyGunFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Indiana
Posts: 29,697
Send a message via ICQ to IndyGunFreak Send a message via AIM to IndyGunFreak Send a message via MSN to IndyGunFreak Send a message via Yahoo to IndyGunFreak Send a message via Skype™ to IndyGunFreak


Not trying to sound like "Mr. Obvious"... but where exactly is it trying to go? (What link?).

http://glocktalk.com should work just fine. Are you getting this on public wifi, or on a network at work?... They may have a filter that is blocking GT.

Try installing Firefox or Chrome, and see if you can get to GT from them.

IGF
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by GioaJack View Post
The fire is no longer my major concern since I am leaving immediately on an unexpected road trip to Indianapolis. Watch the national news over the next couple of days, I'll wave... well, only if I'm cuffed in the front.
RIP Jack
IndyGunFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 11:06   #3
gemeinschaft
AKA Fluffy316
 
gemeinschaft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4,603
Send a message via AIM to gemeinschaft Send a message via Yahoo to gemeinschaft Send a message via Skype™ to gemeinschaft
Have you considered clearing your DNS cache?

from CMD promt:

"ping www.glocktalk.com"

Write down the IP address that you find.

Then flush your DNS using this command:

"ipconfig /flushdns"

Then type:

"ping www.glocktalk.com"

See if you resolve the same IP as before.

I'd be interested to see if your DNS settings are sending you on a wild goose chase.

If you find that you are having issues resolving DNS, you may consider manually choosing your DNS server settings for the network connection that you use.
I used to have issues with the DNS that my ISP was providing, so I changed my DNS settings to use Google's DNS server their addresses are 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4

I know it's a stab in the dark, but I've this before and this was the solution. If it doesn't work, you can always change it right back.
__________________
Check my Photography Site at: http://fluffyshotme.com/

Last edited by gemeinschaft; 02-08-2011 at 11:10..
gemeinschaft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 11:08   #4
OfficerChris
L.A. fanboy
 
OfficerChris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Schnitzelhausen
Posts: 7,501
Send a message via ICQ to OfficerChris
thanks for the info, will check that tomorrow
__________________
Pinki: "I don't think you want to get wild OC style"
Personal hero: Lawman800
Paint me a picture! (top left button)
OfficerChris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 14:19   #5
GIockGuy24
Bring M&M's
 
GIockGuy24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: With Amber Lamps
Posts: 3,971
I have one laptop that I can get to Glocktalk but when I try to sign in I get a wrong password or user ID message. At first I thought it was something in Windows but the same laptop has the same problem in Linux. I have it hard wired to the router, not wireless. It's just that one laptop. All other computers on the router, wired and wireless, have no problem. I checked the keyboard and everything seems to be typing properly.
GIockGuy24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 15:47   #6
gemeinschaft
AKA Fluffy316
 
gemeinschaft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4,603
Send a message via AIM to gemeinschaft Send a message via Yahoo to gemeinschaft Send a message via Skype™ to gemeinschaft
Quote:
Originally Posted by GIockGuy24 View Post
I have one laptop that I can get to Glocktalk but when I try to sign in I get a wrong password or user ID message. At first I thought it was something in Windows but the same laptop has the same problem in Linux. I have it hard wired to the router, not wireless. It's just that one laptop. All other computers on the router, wired and wireless, have no problem. I checked the keyboard and everything seems to be typing properly.
Your laptop is a liberal and doesn't want you to have anything to do with guns. Shoot it immediately.

All kidding aside, I am curious how you checked the keyboard.

If you have not already, open up Notepad and type your username and password just to view how the keystrokes are interpreted on the screen.

Is this what you mean by you checked the keyboard?
__________________
Check my Photography Site at: http://fluffyshotme.com/
gemeinschaft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 20:04   #7
GIockGuy24
Bring M&M's
 
GIockGuy24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: With Amber Lamps
Posts: 3,971
Quote:
Originally Posted by gemeinschaft View Post
Your laptop is a liberal and doesn't want you to have anything to do with guns. Shoot it immediately.

All kidding aside, I am curious how you checked the keyboard.

If you have not already, open up Notepad and type your username and password just to view how the keystrokes are interpreted on the screen.

Is this what you mean by you checked the keyboard?
Well I can see my user name when I type it to sign in. It looks alright. I use the same password for other things and they work.

Last edited by GIockGuy24; 02-08-2011 at 20:04..
GIockGuy24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2011, 01:17   #8
OfficerChris
L.A. fanboy
 
OfficerChris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Schnitzelhausen
Posts: 7,501
Send a message via ICQ to OfficerChris
works now, no idea why, didnt change a thing
__________________
Pinki: "I don't think you want to get wild OC style"
Personal hero: Lawman800
Paint me a picture! (top left button)
OfficerChris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2011, 08:08   #9
gemeinschaft
AKA Fluffy316
 
gemeinschaft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4,603
Send a message via AIM to gemeinschaft Send a message via Yahoo to gemeinschaft Send a message via Skype™ to gemeinschaft
Quote:
Originally Posted by OfficerChris View Post
works now, no idea why, didnt change a thing
Interesting, it could be any number of things.

If it happens again, try the Manual DNS assignment and see what happens.
__________________
Check my Photography Site at: http://fluffyshotme.com/
gemeinschaft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2011, 08:09   #10
gemeinschaft
AKA Fluffy316
 
gemeinschaft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4,603
Send a message via AIM to gemeinschaft Send a message via Yahoo to gemeinschaft Send a message via Skype™ to gemeinschaft
Quote:
Originally Posted by GIockGuy24 View Post
Well I can see my user name when I type it to sign in. It looks alright. I use the same password for other things and they work.
I would open Notepad and type your password to make sure that it appears the same way you type it.

If so, copy and paste it into the field for your password and see what happens.
__________________
Check my Photography Site at: http://fluffyshotme.com/
gemeinschaft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2011, 08:10   #11
OfficerChris
L.A. fanboy
 
OfficerChris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Schnitzelhausen
Posts: 7,501
Send a message via ICQ to OfficerChris
Quote:
Originally Posted by gemeinschaft View Post
Interesting, it could be any number of things.

If it happens again, try the Manual DNS assignment and see what happens.
will try that, thanks for all the help!
__________________
Pinki: "I don't think you want to get wild OC style"
Personal hero: Lawman800
Paint me a picture! (top left button)
OfficerChris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2011, 01:49   #12
OfficerChris
L.A. fanboy
 
OfficerChris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Schnitzelhausen
Posts: 7,501
Send a message via ICQ to OfficerChris
happened again today, wtf.
__________________
Pinki: "I don't think you want to get wild OC style"
Personal hero: Lawman800
Paint me a picture! (top left button)
OfficerChris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2011, 01:53   #13
OfficerChris
L.A. fanboy
 
OfficerChris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Schnitzelhausen
Posts: 7,501
Send a message via ICQ to OfficerChris
the DNS tip didnt help, it shows the same Ip before and after
oh and I get a time when I ping gt.com
__________________
Pinki: "I don't think you want to get wild OC style"
Personal hero: Lawman800
Paint me a picture! (top left button)

Last edited by OfficerChris; 02-12-2011 at 01:56..
OfficerChris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2011, 02:54   #14
Toyman
Senior Member
 
Toyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 3,788
Bookmark this: http://www.glocktalk.com/forums/index.php and log in from there, if you try to log in from just http://www.glocktalk.com/ it never works.
__________________
Mike - A forum post should be like a skirt. Long enough to cover the subject material, but short enough to keep things interesting.
"It's not about the odds, it's about the stakes." - quake
Toyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2011, 03:10   #15
OfficerChris
L.A. fanboy
 
OfficerChris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Schnitzelhausen
Posts: 7,501
Send a message via ICQ to OfficerChris
like I said, I am usually quite confident about computers and tried all kind of things, also changing the adresse, differnt browser.. but nothing works. No idea why
__________________
Pinki: "I don't think you want to get wild OC style"
Personal hero: Lawman800
Paint me a picture! (top left button)
OfficerChris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2011, 08:23   #16
OfficerChris
L.A. fanboy
 
OfficerChris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Schnitzelhausen
Posts: 7,501
Send a message via ICQ to OfficerChris
ok it works now, thanks gemeinschaft. The dns flush didnt work, but I added now 8888 and 8844 as dns and it works. Dont know if this has a negative side, because I kind of suck when it comes to network stuff, but seems like everything works.
__________________
Pinki: "I don't think you want to get wild OC style"
Personal hero: Lawman800
Paint me a picture! (top left button)
OfficerChris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2011, 10:24   #17
gemeinschaft
AKA Fluffy316
 
gemeinschaft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4,603
Send a message via AIM to gemeinschaft Send a message via Yahoo to gemeinschaft Send a message via Skype™ to gemeinschaft
Quote:
Originally Posted by OfficerChris View Post
ok it works now, thanks gemeinschaft. The dns flush didnt work, but I added now 8888 and 8844 as dns and it works. Dont know if this has a negative side, because I kind of suck when it comes to network stuff, but seems like everything works.
DNS is the service that translate "www.WEBSITE.com" to numbers and sends your browser in that direction.

Most of the time, DNS is being giving to you from your Internet Service Provider (ISP). If their DNS sucks, you are stuck with it unless you choose to use a more reliable set of DNS servers.

8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4 are the addresses for Google's DNS servers; I have had no problems using them and anytime someone has an issue that sounds like a DNS error, I recommend trying to use those to see if that isolates the issue.

Hopefully, you will not see this pop up again.
__________________
Check my Photography Site at: http://fluffyshotme.com/
gemeinschaft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2011, 10:39   #18
OfficerChris
L.A. fanboy
 
OfficerChris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Schnitzelhausen
Posts: 7,501
Send a message via ICQ to OfficerChris
ah ok, I understand that somehow, but its still not that clear to me how it works - doesnt matter as long as I can browse GT l
__________________
Pinki: "I don't think you want to get wild OC style"
Personal hero: Lawman800
Paint me a picture! (top left button)
OfficerChris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2011, 10:46   #19
gemeinschaft
AKA Fluffy316
 
gemeinschaft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4,603
Send a message via AIM to gemeinschaft Send a message via Yahoo to gemeinschaft Send a message via Skype™ to gemeinschaft
Quote:
Originally Posted by OfficerChris View Post
ah ok, I understand that somehow, but its still not that clear to me how it works - doesnt matter as long as I can browse GT l
What if I told you my website address was 98.115.35.129 --> Would you remember it?

If you answer yes, then you probably don't get out much

It would probably be easier if I told you my website was "www.OrganicChocolateMilkSucks.com"

DNS is the translator between Humans and Computers. Computers think in numbers, we are much better with names.

When you enter Glocktalk.com, your computer asks the DNS server, I don't know this place, can you give me the IP address I need to go to?

If your DNS server has no idea, you probably will not be able to get there and then you are stuck in limbo land.

If hardcoding your DNS continues to work, then we can safely assume that the DNS server that you were relying on did not have a good record of where GlockTalk is located or the Commies that run your ISP have blocked it for having Gun Porn.

Either way, as long you are up and running, that's what counts.

I have noticed that after hardcoding Google's DNS servers, I have had no DNS issues myself, whereas I would occasionally get them through my ISP.
__________________
Check my Photography Site at: http://fluffyshotme.com/
gemeinschaft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2011, 10:52   #20
OfficerChris
L.A. fanboy
 
OfficerChris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Schnitzelhausen
Posts: 7,501
Send a message via ICQ to OfficerChris
ah ok, but how does the dns server know where www.OrganicChocolateMilkSucks.com is?
__________________
Pinki: "I don't think you want to get wild OC style"
Personal hero: Lawman800
Paint me a picture! (top left button)
OfficerChris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2011, 10:58   #21
gemeinschaft
AKA Fluffy316
 
gemeinschaft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4,603
Send a message via AIM to gemeinschaft Send a message via Yahoo to gemeinschaft Send a message via Skype™ to gemeinschaft
Quote:
Originally Posted by OfficerChris View Post
ah ok, but how does the dns server know where www.OrganicChocolateMilkSucks.com is?
Sorry, I used a fictitious website name as an example, I think I was venting after going to our local donut shop with my son this morning and all they had was Organic Chocolate Milk.

He got it and told me that it takes like dirt.

Who the hell ever heard of Organic Chocolate Milk? If I am buying Chocolate Milk, it better be good old-fashioned artery clogging goodness, not something out of a chemistry set.
__________________
Check my Photography Site at: http://fluffyshotme.com/
gemeinschaft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2011, 11:02   #22
OfficerChris
L.A. fanboy
 
OfficerChris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Schnitzelhausen
Posts: 7,501
Send a message via ICQ to OfficerChris
lol I KNOW ITS FICTIOUS!

so how does the dns server know where www.OrganicChocolateMilkSucks.com WOULD be?

__________________
Pinki: "I don't think you want to get wild OC style"
Personal hero: Lawman800
Paint me a picture! (top left button)
OfficerChris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2011, 12:15   #23
gemeinschaft
AKA Fluffy316
 
gemeinschaft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4,603
Send a message via AIM to gemeinschaft Send a message via Yahoo to gemeinschaft Send a message via Skype™ to gemeinschaft
Quote:
Originally Posted by OfficerChris View Post
lol I KNOW ITS FICTIOUS!

so how does the dns server know where www.OrganicChocolateMilkSucks.com WOULD be?

This guys explains it much better than I could.

http://www.howstuffworks.com/dns.htm
__________________
Check my Photography Site at: http://fluffyshotme.com/
gemeinschaft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2011, 13:03   #24
OfficerChris
L.A. fanboy
 
OfficerChris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Schnitzelhausen
Posts: 7,501
Send a message via ICQ to OfficerChris
thanks, very interesting, now I get it. Didnt know that something like this exists.
__________________
Pinki: "I don't think you want to get wild OC style"
Personal hero: Lawman800
Paint me a picture! (top left button)
OfficerChris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2011, 15:35   #25
gemeinschaft
AKA Fluffy316
 
gemeinschaft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4,603
Send a message via AIM to gemeinschaft Send a message via Yahoo to gemeinschaft Send a message via Skype™ to gemeinschaft
Quote:
Originally Posted by OfficerChris View Post
thanks, very interesting, now I get it. Didnt know that something like this exists.
At least your frustration paid you back by learning a little more than you probably wanted to know about how it works in the background.
__________________
Check my Photography Site at: http://fluffyshotme.com/
gemeinschaft is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:37.



Homepage
FAQ
Forums
Calendar
Advertise
Gallery
GT Wiki
GT Blogs
Social Groups
Classifieds


Users Currently Online: 1,201
342 Members
859 Guests

Most users ever online: 2,244
Nov 11, 2013 at 11:42