Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups

SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 02-08-2011, 17:25   #1
NotAMonte86

WPA2 wireless loses internet regularly

Internet- provided by HOA (Hometown internet)
Router- TrendNet TEW-432BRP
Computers- 2 Toshiba laptops, built-in G wireless, Windows Vista, both having the same problem now

Hello everyone, I have been running a wireless router for over two years on the same internet connection. The wireless was not password protected, but I never had the signal drop or anything. Every time I turn on my computer, the internet is available.

A couple weeks ago, I finally decided to password-protect the signal. I set it up with WPA2, encryption type AES (the other choice is TKIP, and I don't even know what either means or which is better).

Now, at least once a day, the internet becomes unavailable. This was never an issue before I added the encryption. When the connection is good, there is an icon on the bottom-right of the task bar, which has two computers and a globe signifying an internet connection. When the signal is lost, the globe is replaced with a yellow triangle with an exclamation and the connection says "local only." It usually happens when the computers are off or hibernating, then on power up, there is no internet. I fix this by unplugging the router for 10 seconds, and then it works again.

I can't imagine that this is normal. Is there something I can change to improve the connection? Any advice is appreciated.
Old 02-08-2011, 17:41   #2
Pierre!
NRA Life Member

I had a Netgear WRT2000 that ran flawlessly for a year and a half... then started doing what you have described.

I would try a firmware update first (after backing up the current config and system if possible) and then see what happens.