GlockTalk.com
Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups



  
SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

 
  
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-14-2011, 04:25   #1
KING-PIN
Senior Member
 
KING-PIN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,654
unusual problem...

Hey all. I have an asus Eeepc and was adjusting the screen brightness. Well, it somehow kind of glitched and dimmed the screen all the way to black. Now I can't see to turn the brightness back up.

Any suggestions? I feel stupid but honestly don't know what to do. Surely I didn't just junk my computer over something this silly.

Thanks for any help in advance.
__________________
I am NOT Treyvon Martin.
KING-PIN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2011, 07:49   #2
epoxy252
Senior Member
 
epoxy252's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 510
Depending on your model there should be an Fn + Key on the keyboard somewhere that manually adjusts the screen brightness. There also might be an option in the bios. I don't have an Eee Pc but that is how it works on laptops. It's also possible that you switched it to output display only on the vga port instead of the lcd.

Last edited by epoxy252; 02-14-2011 at 07:51..
epoxy252 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2011, 07:55   #3
HerrGlock
CLM Number 2
Scouts Out
 
HerrGlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 64,487


Plug an external monitor in and see if you get any pic.

If you can see that, see if you can alter the brightness on the built in screen.
__________________
Sent from my rotary phone
"The way I see it as soon as a baby is born, he should be issued a banjo!"- Linus Van Pelt
UNIX - Not just for Vestal Virgins any more
HerrGlock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2011, 10:42   #4
KING-PIN
Senior Member
 
KING-PIN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,654
Quote:
Originally Posted by epoxy252 View Post
Depending on your model there should be an Fn + Key on the keyboard somewhere that manually adjusts the screen brightness. There also might be an option in the bios. I don't have an Eee Pc but that is how it works on laptops. It's also possible that you switched it to output display only on the vga port instead of the lcd.
I'll try that. I know i didn't bump it into output display though. My finger slipped too far on the pad and it jerked all the way to the end of the "Dim" end. It was over from there.

Quote:
Originally Posted by HerrGlock View Post
Plug an external monitor in and see if you get any pic.

If you can see that, see if you can alter the brightness on the built in screen.
Going to give this a try. Can't believe it will actually let you dim it all the way down to absolutely nothing with no simple way to get it back.

__________________
I am NOT Treyvon Martin.

Last edited by KING-PIN; 02-14-2011 at 10:44..
KING-PIN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2011, 10:54   #5
IndyGunFreak
KO Windows
 
IndyGunFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Indiana
Posts: 30,108
Send a message via ICQ to IndyGunFreak Send a message via AIM to IndyGunFreak Send a message via MSN to IndyGunFreak Send a message via Yahoo to IndyGunFreak Send a message via Skype™ to IndyGunFreak


Quote:
Originally Posted by KING-PIN View Post
I'll try that. I know i didn't bump it into output display though. My finger slipped too far on the pad and it jerked all the way to the end of the "Dim" end. It was over from there.
On my Acer laptop/netbooks...(and I think my old Asus netbook was the same)...

Look at the "arrow" keys, you should see a "bright sun" and a "dark sun"...

FN + appropriate key.

IGF
__________________
Quote:
Ronald Reagan
"If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under."
"Man is not free unless Government is limited"
IndyGunFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2011, 12:21   #6
KING-PIN
Senior Member
 
KING-PIN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,654
Quote:
Originally Posted by IndyGunFreak View Post
On my Acer laptop/netbooks...(and I think my old Asus netbook was the same)...

Look at the "arrow" keys, you should see a "bright sun" and a "dark sun"...

FN + appropriate key.

IGF
Ok cool. I'll check it shortly.

Thanks
__________________
I am NOT Treyvon Martin.
KING-PIN is offline   Reply With Quote

 
  
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:11.




Homepage
FAQ
Forums
Calendar
Advertise
Gallery
GT Wiki
GT Blogs
Social Groups
Classifieds


Users Currently Online: 685
155 Members
530 Guests

Most users ever online: 2,244
Nov 11, 2013 at 16:42