Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups



  
SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

 
  
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-15-2011, 18:18   #1
Blaster
Hunc tu caveto
 
Blaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 3,180
Why doesn't a screen grab work when playing a DVD?

The other day I was watching a DVD on my computer and i thought it would be neat to pause the DVD, Print Screen, Paste into Paint and make it a Wallpaper.

It did not work I just got a dark screen in Paint. Then I remembered that I had tried this a while ago with the same result.

Can anyone explain why I was unable to get a screen grab from a DVD and if there is a way to do it?
__________________
Up, Look, Press.

If you find yourself in a fair fight, your tactics suck.
Blaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2011, 19:59   #2
HerrGlock
CLM Number 2
Scouts Out
 
HerrGlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 64,496


You have to use the DVD player's software to take a screen grab.

It has to do with copyright stuff, is why they did it this way.

The DVD players are actually running a virtual machine so nothing is being rendered by your OS other than that black box overlaid with the DVD player software.

Yeah, that's really simplistic but it's close enough. You cannot take a pic via print screen. On just about every DVD player's menu and/or icon bar there's a "save screenshot" option, use that rather than print screen.
__________________
Sent from my rotary phone
"The way I see it as soon as a baby is born, he should be issued a banjo!"- Linus Van Pelt
UNIX - Not just for Vestal Virgins any more
HerrGlock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2011, 21:09   #3
Blaster
Hunc tu caveto
 
Blaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 3,180
Quote:
Originally Posted by HerrGlock View Post
On just about every DVD player's menu and/or icon bar there's a "save screenshot" option, use that rather than print screen.
Unfortunately not mine. I am running Cyberlink Power DVD DX on a Dell laptop.

Thanks for the info. I figured it must have something to do with copyright issues.
__________________
Up, Look, Press.

If you find yourself in a fair fight, your tactics suck.
Blaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2011, 21:14   #4
Angry Fist
Lifetime Membership
The Original®
 
Angry Fist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: LOZ
Posts: 28,424
Use VLC Media Player. It's free. Does Capture.

www.videolan.org
__________________
I want rustlers, cut throats, murderers, bounty hunters, desperados, mugs, pugs, thugs, nitwits, halfwits, dimwits, vipers, snipers, con men, Indian agents, Mexican bandits, muggers, buggerers, bushwhackers, hornswogglers, horse thieves, bull dykes, train robbers, bank robbers, ass-kickers, s**t-kickers, Methodists, and the GTDS.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
Angry Fist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 05:35   #5
JimmyN
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,535
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blaster View Post

Can anyone explain why I was unable to get a screen grab from a DVD and if there is a way to do it?
You have to turn off hardware acceleration, then you'll probably be able to capture the screen shot and you won't get that black, or pink, image. The video overlay hardware acceleration uses a "colorkey" technique to replace a specific pixel color (usually black) with the video. Anywhere a "colorkey" pixel appears it will be replaced by a video pixel from the encoder. But this happens downstream from video memory, so if you do a system "print screen" it's taken from video memory before the overlay occurs and all you get is a screen shot of the "colorkey" black or pink pixels. Turning off hardware acceleration forces the encoder to write to standard video memory so your PC's print screen function will work.

Most DVD and video players for PC's have a screen capture option, if you use that rather than using the systems 'PrntScrn" function it will take care of that problem automatically.

But not in all cases, sometimes you'll still need to turn off hardware acceleration to make a capture. For example PowerDVD playing a Blu-Ray disk will not take screen captures, that function is grayed out, because hardware acceleration is turned on and you can't turn it off while playing Blu-Ray. So you can't get a screen capture using "PrtScrn" or PowerDVD's capture option.

But instead of playing "the disk" in the normal fashion you open PowerDVD, then select "media files" as the source and navigate to the Blu-Ray disk. Double click on the movies .m2ts file to play it, turn off hardware acceleration, and then the capture option will appear and you can do HD screen captures right from PowerDVD.
__________________
** Sent from my rotary dial phone using TwirlaWord **
JimmyN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 08:04   #6
BuckyP
Lifetime Membership
Senior Member
 
BuckyP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: PA
Posts: 9,493
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blaster View Post
Unfortunately not mine. I am running Cyberlink Power DVD DX on a Dell laptop.

Thanks for the info. I figured it must have something to do with copyright issues.
I use Power DVD and there is a screen capture, though it's very hard to find. If you look in the Display window, right underneath the Title, there is a picture of a camera. If you mouse over that, the tool tip pops up "Capture Frame". Use that to capture a screen shot.
BuckyP is online now   Reply With Quote

 
  
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:08.




Homepage
FAQ
Forums
Calendar
Advertise
Gallery
GT Wiki
GT Blogs
Social Groups
Classifieds


Users Currently Online: 818
243 Members
575 Guests

Most users ever online: 2,672
Aug 11, 2014 at 2:31