SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 02-16-2011, 18:40   #1
MplsPete

How to choose between 9mm weights?

Sorry for the total newb question...

Bought a Glock 17 recently as my first handgun. When I checked out 9mm ammo to purchase, I see weights from 115g to 147g+. Why would one buy a heavier ammo over another? Why would you buy one weight over the other? Thanks in advance
MplsPete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 18:55   #2
Whitey1
Large Member

Fat bullets need love too.

Whitey1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 19:09   #3
deathpriest

The way I see it, the heavier bullets would hit harder at close range. More mass hit harder.
deathpriest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 19:16   #4
Philippe

May i ask what this fine firearm is being used for, that can help point us in the right direction in order to help you pick out some quality ammo.
Philippe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 19:43   #5
MplsPete

Quote:
Originally Posted by Philippe View Post
May i ask what this fine firearm is being used for, that can help point us in the right direction in order to help you pick out some quality ammo.
In general, home defense. I also plan on quite a bit of fun time at the range with this being my first firearm.
MplsPete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 19:45   #6
G23c

go big, mo better.
G23c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 19:53   #7
Foxtrotx1

All weights of 9mm have their virtues. The 147's tend to get more penetration. However, A 115 +P+ load can realllllly open up and dump it's energy fast. However, there is a great debate as to whether or not the amount of energy (joules or Ft/lbs) actually matters on handgun wounds. As long as you use a proven loading such as Speer Golddots, 9PBLE, Golden Saber, ect. You will not notice too much difference between weights. I doubt many people could tell them apart in a gel test without captions.