Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups

SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 03-30-2011, 13:34   #1
wrx04

First range trip with the SRP...

I managed to get my SRP commanche to the range for the first time today. It was a pretty quick trip, since i had an appointment i needed to make, but i was able to send 200 rounds through it. The ammo i used was WWB, Rem mega pack, and some mild and hot reloads.

First things first....i shot it like crap! Im not sure why. It could have been one of many factors.....not used to the shorter barrel, different sights, short trigger, standard grips, or maybe i was a little excited and my trigger control was off

The gun definitely feels different than the trojan that ive been shooting for the past 6 months. I pulled out the STI and ran a mag through it to make sure it wasnt me, and i ended up with one ragged hole at 7 yards. The SRP seemed to be shooting a little high for some reason. I am gonna go back to the range tonight and shoot another 300 through it to see if i can get it straightened out.

Functionally, the gun did OK. I did have two FTE's (stovepipes)....wasnt paying attention what ammo it was with though. The other thing was it shot the brass straight back into my face a couple times. My STI never has done that before, so i will have to see if that problem persists. Also, the gun does NOT slingshot. The slidestop BARELY catches it. Its so close that i bet a slight polish of the slidestop would do the trick. Its too bad they dont make them to have the proper amount of slide travel.....just a little bit more travel would completely eliminate this.