Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups

SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 04-01-2011, 00:32   #1
Jeffbat83

Lead bullets

Being only a few weeks into my reloading career, I have become very comfortable loading plated bullets in my G39 so far, no malfuctions at all. So I decided to buy a lonewolf barrel and see how it works out with lead bullets. I am wanting to know if it is common for a lead bullet to require an OAL shorter than is listed in a loading manual(Lyman #49). The bullet that I am currently working with is a MBC IDP #4-XD(200 gr rnfp). With my factory barrel, my lead rounds would clunk In and fall out freely without a problem at 1.08, but with my lone wolf barrel I am having to reduce them to about 1.07.

If I'm missing any details let me know, thanks in advance.
Jeffbat83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 00:48   #2
oneofthose

I'm no expert, hopefully others will chime in, but I believe the difference you describe between the glock factory barrel and the LW is not related to COL. The LW barrel is likely fully supported, and "tighter" than the Glock barrel.

But I could be wrong. When you insert a loaded round as you describe above, and remove it, do you see lines from the rifling in the bullet?

Last edited by oneofthose; 04-01-2011 at 00:49.. Reason: correction
oneofthose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 06:59   #3
Colorado4Wheel

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffbat83 View Post