GlockTalk.com
Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups



  
SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

 
  
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-18-2011, 02:48   #1
Jeffbat83
Member
 
Jeffbat83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 26
Using diffrent primers

Is it really necessary to start a load from scratch when trying out a different primer. After a few weeks I have found one load that I really like(.45 gap 200gr copper plated RN with 5 grains of W231 using WSP), found a good deal on some CCI 500s. The load I use is more on the low-med end, but I'm still fairly new to this, don't want to take any chances.

Thanks in advance.
Jeffbat83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 03:21   #2
Joshua M. Smith
Shootist
 
Joshua M. Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Wabash IN
Posts: 227
Send a message via ICQ to Joshua M. Smith Send a message via Yahoo to Joshua M. Smith
As long as they're not magnum primers, you should be OK. I personally will do it at times as long as I'm not at a max load.

That said, you assume all risk, liability, etc etc for anything you try.

Josh
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
Joshua M. Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 04:56   #3
shotgunred
reloading nut
 
shotgunred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: N W Washington
Posts: 7,611
No its not necessary to start a load from scratch when trying out a different primer. I don't have a problem with switching primer brands unless I am running the high end of the pressure curve with a given load. I use magnum primers all the time. Never had a problem with them.
__________________
When dealing with Democrats, let us remember we are
not dealing with creatures of logic. We are dealing with
creatures of emotion, creatures bristling with prejudices
and motivated by pride and vanity.
shotgunred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 05:13   #4
vafish
Senior Member
 
vafish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Commonwealth of Virginia
Posts: 24,031
Changing brands of primer can make a huge difference in pressure spikes.

But it should only be a safety issue if you are running near max loads. Any time you are running near max loads and change any components in your recipie the safe thing to do is stop down 10% and work your way back up.

Changing primer may effect your accuracy and you may have to work up a new load with the new primer.
__________________
"If your plan is for one year, plant rice.
If your plan is for ten years, plant trees.
If your plan is for one hundred years,
educate children." -- Confucius
vafish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 07:09   #5
FLSlim
Senior Member
 
FLSlim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: FL W Coast
Posts: 1,234
Quote:
Originally Posted by shotgunred View Post
No its not necessary to start a load from scratch when trying out a different primer. I don't have a problem with switching primer brands unless I am running the high end of the pressure curve with a given load. I use magnum primers all the time. Never had a problem with them.
Same here and I normally don't load to max. Not too long ago, I used whatever was available and, most recently, I jumped from Fed to Wolf because the sale price was impossible to pass up.
__________________
Use a gun that works EVERY TIME.
Florida Glockers Club #1040
Big Dogs Club #1592
FLSlim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 10:25   #6
PCJim
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: FL
Posts: 2,929
You're ok. As stated above, as long as you are not at or near max, and are substituting same type primers, you are ok.

If you were substituting SRP for SPP, or SMPP for SPP, then the advice would be to back down and rework the load.

Last edited by PCJim; 04-18-2011 at 10:26..
PCJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 11:39   #7
cole
Senior Member
 
cole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 4,236
Not if you load mid-range. I swap whenever I find a better deal and change nothing. I swap SPPM and SPP, too. Again, has never mattered. Max loads, especially with an uber-fast powder, I'd back things down some first.
__________________
- I'm too old to still think I know everything.
- Evil prevails when the good do nothing - Burke
- When seconds count the police are just minutes away.
- When I was strong they came for the weak but I did nothing. Now I am weak and they come for me.
cole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 12:52   #8
Boxerglocker
Jacks #1 Fan
 
Boxerglocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Lynnwood, WA
Posts: 5,982
Quote:
Originally Posted by cole View Post
Not if you load mid-range. I swap whenever I find a better deal and change nothing. I swap SPPM and SPP, too. Again, has never mattered. Max loads, especially with an uber-fast powder, I'd back things down some first.
here is you answer.
__________________
Glock 3rd Gen G19/G34, 4th Gen G17 FDE, G26,
Dillon
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
&
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
BLUE Kool-aid drinking team member
Boxerglocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 14:03   #9
Kwesi
Senior Member
 
Kwesi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: TX
Posts: 1,540
Just to sure I understand. I just worked up a new load that worked very well, actually the best grouping I can remember having in a long time:

10mm
800-X
180gr PD FMJ
8.8gr ( all hand weighed 8.6 - 8.8 )
Starline brass
Wolf LPP
Wolf 24# spring
G21

I happened to have the Wolf open on the bench so I used them. This is I believe at or near max so are you guys saying if I swithch to Win LPP or CCI LPP's I need to back it down? I've never switched to magnum's. The spent primers looked fine but I honestly don't know what to look for for over pressure other than the ring around the primer becoming non-existant.
Kwesi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 14:17   #10
shotgunred
reloading nut
 
shotgunred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: N W Washington
Posts: 7,611
If you are not near max then it is no big deal. As you are near max it is just safer to back down a little and work it back up. You don't want to get the straw that broke the camel's back.
__________________
When dealing with Democrats, let us remember we are
not dealing with creatures of logic. We are dealing with
creatures of emotion, creatures bristling with prejudices
and motivated by pride and vanity.

Last edited by shotgunred; 04-18-2011 at 14:17..
shotgunred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 15:05   #11
Kwesi
Senior Member
 
Kwesi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: TX
Posts: 1,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by shotgunred View Post
If you are not near max then it is no big deal. As you are near max it is just safer to back down a little and work it back up. You don't want to get the straw that broke the camel's back.
Thanks! Until reading this thread I had no idea that their was a potential problem switching primer brands near max.
Kwesi is offline   Reply With Quote

 
  
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 17:10.




Homepage
FAQ
Forums
Calendar
Advertise
Gallery
GT Wiki
GT Blogs
Social Groups
Classifieds


Users Currently Online: 1,121
323 Members
798 Guests

Most users ever online: 2,244
Nov 11, 2013 at 16:42