SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 04-19-2011, 18:29   #1
NMG26

Unique load 125gr JHP Lee dipper

I am loading 38 Special.

The website for Unique calls out 5.7g for 125gr JHP and and 6.0 for +p.

Lee dipper .3cc=2.7g
.5cc=4.6g
.7=6.4g

two dips of .3cc would give me 5.4 just under the callout.
One dip of .5cc would give me 6.4g just over the callout for +p

I think my Blackhawk can handle the 6.4g but I don't want to load that in my S&W 638 Airweight that is rated for +p.

I'm thinking of starting off with 2 dips of .3cc and being .3g under the callout.

This is my first time loading this round.

Any advice and all comments welcome.

Thanks in advance.

Last edited by NMG26; 04-19-2011 at 18:31..
NMG26 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 18:35   #2
GioaJack
Conifer Jack

Just make your own dipper out of a .38 case with a piece of wire soldered on for a handle.

Cut the case down with a Dremel until a full case equals the charge you want. Since each dip can be slightly different than every other dip absolute max loads may not be the wisest idea.

Jack

A PACIFIST is someone who won't raise their hands to defend themselves...
A COWARD is someone who won't raise their hands to defend someone else.
GioaJack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 18:46   #3
dwhite53

Ditto Jack! I've got a variety of them made out of 9mm, .32 auto, .38 special cases. They all work great.

You will find the 0.3cc dipper will actually drop less than 2.7 grains. If you weigh them out you may find 0.7cc dipper drops a safe charge. You do have a scale, right?

All the Best,
D. White

Last edited by dwhite53; 04-19-2011 at 18:46..
dwhite53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 18:53   #4
Colorado4Wheel

Did you actually measure what the dipper gives you or are you going from the data they publish. You need to actually test the dipper not go with some data they publish the dipper should give you.
Old 04-19-2011, 18:54   #5
WiskyT