Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups

SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 05-11-2011, 21:12   #1
lookin4my1stglock

Right handed....left eye dominant

ok here's my dilemma....I am new to pistol shooting (meaning I have shot maybe 10 rds in a pistol)....looking to buy my first pistol....and I am predominantly right handed in everything I do but found that I am left eye dominant. I shoot archery right handed and my left eye dominance messes with my accuracy. When learning how to shoot pistol (since handedness doesn't seem to matter in pistols as it does with bows), should I train left handed because of my left eye dominance or shoot right handed using my right eye? I am just curious as to what people think or suggest. Thanks for everyone's responses!
lookin4my1stglock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 21:14   #2
Shinesintx

Switch hands or aim right?

Last edited by Shinesintx; 05-11-2011 at 21:14..
Shinesintx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 21:20   #3
NickC50310

Send a message via AIM to NickC50310
I have been shooting pistols for years. I am left handed when I write and eat but right handed for everything else (shooting, golf, hockey, throwing, etc.). I am left eye dominant. For the past 5+ years I have taught myself to aim with my right eye. I would have to close my left entirely. I took a handgun course a few weeks ago and the instructor determined that I am still left eye dominant. I was trying to aim with both eyes open and it just wasnt happening. My left eye was constantly taking over. So what I did was start aiming with my left eye and have my right eye either closed or squinting. My accuracy improved tremendously (it was good before but now its awesome).