GlockTalk.com
Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups

SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 05-26-2011, 10:52   #1
steve1988

Going Back To Virginia For The Weekend...

Did the vehicle carry issue ever get resolved? It was on the table when I went to Basic, and I'm now a GA resident, invalidating my VA CCW. Basically, my question is can I carry my Glock loaded, and in the center console legally?
Thomas Paine: "...arms...discourage and keep the invader and plunderer in awe, and preserve order in the world as well as property. ...Horrid mischief would ensue were (the law-abiding) deprived the use of them."
steve1988 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2011, 14:20   #2
fiasconva

No, not unless you have a concealed carry permit. It has to be in "plain view" not to be considered concealed. You can carry it on the seat beside you. But remember, open carry is legal in VA without a permit. For more info try www.vcdl.org

Last edited by fiasconva; 05-26-2011 at 14:23.. Reason: adding information
fiasconva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2011, 16:00   #3
vafish

I didn't think moving invalidated a chp. It should be good until the expiration date.

You have to have your permit and a government issued picture is. Show them your permit and .mil is.
educate children." -- Confucius

Last edited by vafish; 05-26-2011 at 16:01..
vafish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2011, 16:11   #4
ProactiveShooters
President / CFI

Quote:
Originally Posted by fiasconva View Post
No, not unless you have a concealed carry permit. It has to be in "plain view" not to be considered concealed. You can carry it on the seat beside you. But remember, open carry is legal in VA without a permit. For more info try www.vcdl.org

Incorrect.

You may now carry your handgun (loaded or unloaded) in a "secure" container or compartment of the vehicle w/o a permit. Secure does not necessarily mean locked.
Instructor Bio -