SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 08-01-2011, 11:57   #1
88MPH
RON PAUL 2012

Bank Vaults as Bunkers in Post SHTF?

I was wondering if these are as fortified as people believe? Would you really survive a nuke like in the Twilight Zone episode? Are they air tight and thus unusable when sealed? Can you get out from the inside if the door has been closed and locked? Banks are everywhere. There's a good chance you'll be near one when the SHTF.

Any thoughts?
88MPH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 12:16   #2
PBCounty

I'm gonna steal an airplane.
Old 08-01-2011, 12:33   #3
Teasip63

Bank vaults are not perfectly airtight but they are enough that if you get locked in you could run out of air. They are not perfectly airtight in that water will creep in if there is a flood but there are not enough air holes to keep you alive I believe.

My background is disaster recovery and we used to tell the branch banks to have on hand duck tape, rubber gloves and pertroleum jelly. Those would be used to help seal the cracks around the door to prevent or slow water from getting in during a flood to protect the safety deposit boxes.

One branch bank officer said duck tape, rubber gloves and petroleum jelly are what they had on hand when the auditors came but for a different reason.
Teasip63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 12:39   #4
88MPH
RON PAUL 2012

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teasip63 View Post
Bank vaults are not perfectly airtight but they are enough that if you get locked in you could run out of air. They are not perfectly airtight in that water will creep in if there is a flood but there are not enough air holes to keep you alive I believe.