Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 08-19-2011, 12:23   #1
faawrenchbndr
CLM Number 281
The Dude Abides

May pursue a IT career

So here's the deal. I'm 44, retired Military, so I have some VA benifits for school.

I'm an aircraft mechanic,.....and the market sux.

To those in the IT field, what are your thoughts about ITT tech?
faawrenchbndr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 13:02   #2
Glock!9

Send a message via AIM to Glock!9
Quote:
Originally Posted by faawrenchbndr View Post
So here's the deal. I'm 44, retired Military, so I have some VA benifits for school.

I'm an aircraft mechanic,.....and the market sux.

To those in the IT field, what are your thoughts about ITT tech?
I have been in IT for 16 years, I have worked for small, medium and large companies. I know own my own IT services company, so i have a bit of experience in this area. When I used to hire for the last place i worked they would get interviewees from ITT Tech. I was not ever impressed with a single one coming out of school fresh.
This is not meant to discourage you at all, if you would like to talk more about it feel free to PM me.
It is still one of the best if not the best field to get into.
Old 08-19-2011, 13:22   #3
RepsolGuy

I went to the Cittone institute in 2001 which is a part of ITT tech. It was a pretty decent school but the problem was for me I got a diploma for my major. I had to work my way up. But if I went to college instead I would of had a degree and that would of my life easier. My point, go to a credible college instead. Hope that helps

Outdoor Hub mobile, the outdoor information engine
RepsolGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 13:31   #4
Detectorist

ITT Tech has a poor reputation. Plus, at your age, you're going to find lots of age discrimination in the IT field.

Start out at your local Community College.

The single biggest problem in communication is the illusion that it has taken place”. George Bernard Shaw