SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 09-26-2011, 19:29   #1
mike g35
RACEGUN SHOOTER

LEE turret press????

I just got offered the deal of the century on a Lee turret press. I was planning to buy a Dillon but for the price I can get this LEE for I would have enough money left for whatever I want, even a new gun. Are they any good??? I am a beginner, most of you know me, and I only need something simple to start with anyway. I decided on a Dillon 550B (because thats what Brian Eno's suggested) but this LEE comes with alot of extras and its at a price you wouldn't believe. Help me guys, I don't want to make a mistake. I am buying one or the other this very week so time is of the essence.
mike g35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2011, 19:37   #2
Colorado4Wheel

Keep in mind a NEW Lee Turret press complete Kit is only $110 new. And you don't need or want most of what comes in the kit anyway.

For the record the Lee Turret isn't 1/4 the press the 550, if you want better and simple get the Lee Classic Turret.

Last edited by Colorado4Wheel; 09-26-2011 at 19:37..
Colorado4Wheel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2011, 19:44   #3
homersapien

The Lee Turret (that comes in kit form) is perfectly adequate. The Classic Turret is considerably better, though. I have the kit Turret. I do around 200 rounds per hour. It can be a real chore. The dies don't stay tight. The powder measure either sticks or leaks powder everywhere. But it's cheap, and like I said, gets the job done. Though it is not a press you'll end up keeping, it is an inexpensive way to get into the hobby. After your first thousand rounds I guarantee you'll start saving for a Dillon.
homersapien is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2011, 19:50   #4
ron59
Bustin Caps

Mike. Really think you'll be happier with the 650. Don't be askeered. But with all the shooting you and your Dad are doing, you need a higher output (and more dependable) press.