Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups



  
SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

 
  
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-01-2011, 14:41   #1
gemeinschaft
AKA Fluffy316
 
gemeinschaft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4,617
Send a message via AIM to gemeinschaft Send a message via Yahoo to gemeinschaft Send a message via Skype™ to gemeinschaft
IE9 update hoses IE on Vista machine

Today, I was working with another GT member's laptop issue when I discovered that an update to IE9 caused IE to completely fail.

I attempted to uninstall the update, but was unsuccessful at getting IE to work again.

I ended up installing Google Chrome so that he could continue to browse the Information highway, but unfortunately, I was never able to get IE to work again.

I don't like only finding a workaround, but in the case, that's as far as I seemed to get.

Has anyone else had this issue and if so, what was your resolution?

BTW, the computer is running Vista Home 32-bit; update that hosed the system was IE 9.0.2

Thanks in advance.
__________________
Check my Photography Site at:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
gemeinschaft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 15:04   #2
Detectorist
Senior Member
 
Detectorist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 8,223
My original drive has Vista Basic. Once I finish backing it up today or tomorrow, I'll try updating I.E.

Have you tried System Restore?
__________________
NASM-Certified Personal Trainer

The single biggest problem in communication is the illusion that it has taken place”. George Bernard Shaw

Last edited by Detectorist; 10-01-2011 at 15:06..
Detectorist is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 17:04   #3
sappy13
Senior Member
 
sappy13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Bremen, GA
Posts: 2,741
when I set up new pcs for clients, I always exclude ie9. Too many issues and not worth it
sappy13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 17:55   #4
GIockGuy24
Bring M&M's
 
GIockGuy24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: With Amber Lamps
Posts: 3,973
I found these articles which you may have already found. It looks like maybe a couple of methods of uninstalling IE 9 and then the previous version should be available after a restart / reboot. If IE 9 can be uninstalled, an older version of IE installer may run if IE still doesn't work. That might get IE going again.

From MS

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/w...net-explorer-9

Some fixes

1 - "If Comodo is installed, rename the Comodo directory."



2 - Who doesn’t see “Windows Internet Explorer 9″ in “View Installed Update” pane – Delete or remove folder /Program Files/Internet Explorer. And install one more Internet Explorer 8 (or 7, 6, …). Download IE8 –

http://ie8.msn.com/microsoft/interne...worldwide.aspx



3 - Method 2. If you deleted folder Internet Explorer from Program Files, return this folder, and go to Control Panel > System Restore. And here choose your update with IE9 and restore to IE8


Command line method

http://www.uniquetipsonline.com/how-...and-windows-7/



Other links

http://help.k12.com/support-topics/r...ista-and-windo

And similar problems with IE 9 beta

http://www.webtlk.com/2010/09/16/how...plorer-9-beta/







http://www.uniquetipsonline.com/how-...and-windows-7/
__________________
Despite some media reports, there were no AK-47s involved in the incident
GIockGuy24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 07:24   #5
gemeinschaft
AKA Fluffy316
 
gemeinschaft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4,617
Send a message via AIM to gemeinschaft Send a message via Yahoo to gemeinschaft Send a message via Skype™ to gemeinschaft
Quote:
Originally Posted by GIockGuy24 View Post
I found these articles which you may have already found. It looks like maybe a couple of methods of uninstalling IE 9 and then the previous version should be available after a restart / reboot. If IE 9 can be uninstalled, an older version of IE installer may run if IE still doesn't work. That might get IE going again.

From MS

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/w...net-explorer-9

Some fixes

1 - "If Comodo is installed, rename the Comodo directory."



2 - Who doesn’t see “Windows Internet Explorer 9″ in “View Installed Update” pane – Delete or remove folder /Program Files/Internet Explorer. And install one more Internet Explorer 8 (or 7, 6, …). Download IE8 –

http://ie8.msn.com/microsoft/interne...worldwide.aspx



3 - Method 2. If you deleted folder Internet Explorer from Program Files, return this folder, and go to Control Panel > System Restore. And here choose your update with IE9 and restore to IE8


Command line method

http://www.uniquetipsonline.com/how-...and-windows-7/



Other links

http://help.k12.com/support-topics/r...ista-and-windo

And similar problems with IE 9 beta

http://www.webtlk.com/2010/09/16/how...plorer-9-beta/







http://www.uniquetipsonline.com/how-...and-windows-7/


Thanks. If the user wants to take the time, I'll give it a shot. I will definitely bookmark this in my KB for a later date.
__________________
Check my Photography Site at:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
gemeinschaft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 00:44   #6
Detectorist
Senior Member
 
Detectorist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 8,223
I updated my Vista Basic IE and it seems to work just fine....so far.
__________________
NASM-Certified Personal Trainer

The single biggest problem in communication is the illusion that it has taken place”. George Bernard Shaw
Detectorist is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2011, 11:09   #7
Glock 1
Senior Member
 
Glock 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,864
I find in my work that upgrades to service packs will sometimes cause other upgrades to not completely uninstall. Did you try removing any other upgrades from the same install date?
__________________
Robert Bailey
Owner


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
Glock 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2011, 11:11   #8
Glock 1
Senior Member
 
Glock 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,864
Also, have you tried starting ie without any addons?
__________________
Robert Bailey
Owner


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
Glock 1 is offline   Reply With Quote

 
  
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 20:15.




Homepage
FAQ
Forums
Calendar
Advertise
Gallery
GT Wiki
GT Blogs
Social Groups
Classifieds


Users Currently Online: 1,376
419 Members
957 Guests

Most users ever online: 2,672
Aug 11, 2014 at 2:31