Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups

SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 10-27-2011, 10:01   #1
Mopaw

Need more load data

I'm relatively new to reloading, and really keen on exact information. I'm reloading 9mm for my Glock and XDM. I have winchester FMJ 115gr hollow base (NOT hollow point) bullets and IMR Hi-Skor 700X powder. Looking at the Hodgden chart online they show data for a LRN bullet and for a SPR-GDHP bullet. The powder load for the lead bullet is 3.3 to 3.7 gr, and the hollow point is 3.9 to 4.2. these loads are mutually exclusive: I can't just pick one and expect everything to be OK.
So now I have questions:
1. Is there another data source other than Hodgden/IMR/Winchester?
2. Using one powder, how would you adjust the load between a lead round nose bullet and a FMJ round nose bullet?
Thanks
Mopaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2011, 10:51   #2
F106 Fan

Are you certain about the bullet nomenclature? I use the Winchester 115 gr FMJ but I have never seen a hollow base. The fact that the lead is exposed on the bottom of the bullet simply means that they are not CMJ (complete metal jacket). I realize that FMJ rifle bullets have a complete jacket but that's because the temperature and pressure would melt the lead before it left the barrel. For lower velocity lead rifle bullets, there is a metal 'gas check' (looks like a washer with edges) placed on the bottom of the bullet to protect the lead.

I have certainly used hollow base wadcutters (HBWC) in my S&W 52 (semi-auto target gun - shoots wadcutters only). Look on the box or bag and see if it doesn't say FMJ - the one's I got from Cabela's do.