Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups

SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 11-24-2011, 23:43   #1
easyj75

reloading for glock .40

Any advice for reloading the .40s&w for the glock.. I don't want to buy an aftermarket barrel and I am a little concerned about the lack of case support in the factory barrels that I have read about.. I've talked to guys in local gun shops and they all advise against reloading for the glocks, then on the other hand I have read many posts were people have had no trouble.. I am new to reloading and I am going to start reloading 9mm and .40 for glocks..

Thanks in advance ezj
Old 11-24-2011, 23:52   #2
PrecisionRifleman

Keep the loads mild and you will do fine and get decent case life. I wouldn't push them too hot in the stock barrel. If at any point you do desire to push hot loads that would be a reason to consider an after market barrel. I've gotten 8 loads out of a single 45 casing in a G30 pushing mild 800fps 230gr. I can't speak for the 40S&W in a Glock because I haven't loaded for my G23 yet, but I imagine so long as you keep your loads mild to warm you will do just fine with the stock barrel.

Edit: I could have used the casing more than 8 times, but that's the limit of where I feel comfortable in recycling a casing.

G20SF
Gen4 G23

Last edited by PrecisionRifleman; 11-24-2011 at 23:55..
PrecisionRifleman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 00:08   #3
Steve Koski
Got Insurance?

It's easy. The most important thing is to pick a powder you can't double charge in the .40 case. A fluffy, medium speed powder. Like WSF or Unique.

Beyond that, follow the manual and have fun. It really is easy to reload for a .40.
Old 11-25-2011, 08:37   #4
Colorado4Wheel