Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups

SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 12-12-2011, 08:37   #1
SCmasterblaster

Mindset just before shooting

I have been a student of self-defense shootings for almost 40 years, and I have read where armed interveners have hesitated for some amount of time (before shooting) to consider the legal consequences of armed intervention. My question is - is there anything more important than the protection of innocent lives from the illegal and deadly actions of an armed criminal? I know that in my trained mind, I have decided that if I am ever threatened by an armed felon, I am going to shoot and keep shooting until the criminal is down and out permanently. With 17 rounds of +P+ 115gr jhp 9x19s, I don't anticipate needing more than five rounds, leaving me 12 rounds for whatever comes next. What I will also have to get for whatever comes next is a good criminal lawyer. My best advice is to just do the right and necessary thing and let the lawyers argue about it later. Am I off base here?
Old 12-12-2011, 21:38   #2
Mas Ayoob
KoolAidAntidote

I'd say yeah, maybe a little off base, SC. Here's why.

I've talked with too many people who froze because they weren't sure they could handle the aftermath. That's been known to get folks killed. I've found the people who fully understand the legal, sociological, and psychological aftermath of having had to use deadly force -- AND UNDERSTAND IT TO THE DEGREE THAT THEY KNOW THEY CAN HANDLE IT -- don't suffer from that deadly hesitation. That's why I've spent decades incorporating that training along with the shooting elements and the tactical elements.

best,
Mas
Mas Ayoob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 18:51   #3
SCmasterblaster

I will therefore

not hesitate for even an instant. If someone threatens my life, they will be on the ground dead in less than five seconds.

Last edited by SCmasterblaster; 12-13-2011 at 18:52..