Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups

SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 01-16-2012, 22:00   #1
snowbird.40

Full power .40 or 9mm barrel

Hello Mas - I just read your article in The Complete Book of Handguns about how competitive shooters are wringing better and better performance from the Glock Model 26 in 9mm.

I have been shooting in IDPA and IPSC matches for about 6-7 years now and have decided to quit dabbling in assorted Glocks and just stick with the one that I'll use for CC and home defense ... the G27 (Gen 4). I love the gun and feel very confident in it, but I keep coming up short in the IDPA Classifier where I've been stuck in SharpShooter class (SSP division) ever since my first Classifier.

A mutual acquaintance made a few suggestions on how I could pick up the 11-15 seconds I need to make Expert and still remain true to my belief that competing with my carry gun is a wise choice. First, he suggested I shoot Winchester White Box ammo in 180 grain to best duplicate the 'push' recoil - with faster recovery times between shots - of a .45 caliber weapon and if I still can't shave off the seconds required to reach 120 for the Expert Class, then I might want to consider purchasing a 9mm conversion barrel and some 9mm magazines just for the purpose of reaching Expert (a personal goal) and then go back to shooting factory ball ammo in .40 caliber.

A couple questions: if nothing else changes about my skills and abilities, is it feasible in your opinion to make up the time difference shooting WWB compared to Remington UMC? If not, would it make that much difference to use the 9mm conversion system if my skill level doesn't improve? And, finally, do you think I could get by with just a 9mm barrel or would I have to exchange the extractor and/or other components?

I some times feel like my goal of reaching Expert is a bit obsessive, but we all have our flaws ... :-)