Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups

SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 04-08-2012, 19:09   #1
gatorglockman

Beretta 92FS vs M9

Okay.....did a prior thread on Beretta. I am close to pulling the trigger on a NIB Italian made 92FS that I can get a very good deal on where I moonlight (I get a pretty good employee discount).

That said, I served in the Army and carried an M9 so it has some sentimental value to me.

I am not an expert on the differences between the pistols except for the finish and that the M9's are made in the US. I can get the 92FS for about $50-60 less than the best deal I have found on the M9.

Feedback, opinion or guidance?

"If you seek peace, prepare for war"
And that is why it is called 9mm parabellum
gatorglockman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2012, 19:23   #2
JaPes
Rimfire 1010101

The big difference is in the grip, where the beaver tail is. The 92fs usually has more of a radius there than the M9. The 92fs dust cover is slanted, whereas the M9 is flat/straight.

This is not always the case, because I've seen 92fs' built with M9 frames at the chain retailer.

The front sight blade on a 92fs is fixed to the frame. I'm not sure about an M9's.

Shipwreck should be around soon enough to give you the rundown. He's the resident 92-addict. :D

Have you considered either a 92A1 or M9A1? I believe they have a picatinny rail and dovetailed front sights.

Last edited by JaPes; 04-08-2012 at 19:28..
JaPes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2012, 23:05   #3
TalkToTheGlock
Zombie Hunter

I am shipwreck junior.

I have a bunch of 92fs and a M9.

I like the grip better on the M9. That extra radius makes the gun sit deeper in my grip. It feels better.

Also, the markings are a lot nicer on the M9.