SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 04-17-2012, 09:00   #1
TN.Frank
Mad Hatter

Learn to shoot, buy a flintlock.

I was watching "Handguns" on TV this a.m. and they were talking about the 7 Steps to Shooting properly. One of them was Follow Through and I thought to myself, heck, I learned all about that when I started shooting flintlocks. One thing that you MUST do when shooting a flintlock is have follow through because it takes a bit of time from the pull of the trigger to when the main powder charge goes off. I think anyone wanting to learn about Follow Through would do well if they learn how to shoot a Flintlock.
Old 04-17-2012, 09:42   #2
countrygun

Actually, it isn't that bad an idea, I have flintlock and percussion rifles and they do require a strict attention to basics. Of course in todays word self-discipline is in short supply. This is evident by the moving in of the goalposts for pistol testing and 7 yards becoming some kind of standard. Nobody can shoot at 25 yds any more, which is a pity since if you can shoot tight groups at 25 yds 7 yds is a "Gimmie". But the discipline isn't there it's been replaced by rationalization and swifter gratification.
countrygun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 10:03   #3
Unistat

Quote:
Originally Posted by countrygun View Post
Actually, it isn't that bad an idea, I have flintlock and percussion rifles and they do require a strict attention to basics. Of course in todays word self-discipline is in short supply. This is evident by the moving in of the goalposts for pistol testing and 7 yards becoming some kind of standard. Nobody can shoot at 25 yds any more, which is a pity since if you can shoot tight groups at 25 yds 7 yds is a "Gimmie". But the discipline isn't there it's been replaced by rationalization and swifter gratification.