Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups

SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 04-26-2012, 19:27   #1
MississipVol

Would YOU shoot this gun?

I am relatively new to handguns and my dad loaned me his H&R .22 revolver that he hadn't shot in years to use at the range. My intention was to let my son try to shoot a handgun for the first time and I'm not quite ready for him to try out my G19.

The revolver is probably 40 years old or maybe even more. I bought some CCI 21 grain "Short range green, 22 long rifle lead-free hollow point" to shoot through it.

It holds 9 rounds and it was not firing on about 2 of those. There was also one shot in which it seemed like gunpowder sprayed both my son and I in the face. That happened only once but was a but unnerving. Not sure what that was.

Anyhow - since I am new to shooting the gun. Can any of you experienced shooters tell me if this is normal and (mainly) is there is anything to worry about with what I described.

TIA
MississipVol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 20:30   #2
HAMMERHEAD

The gun may not be the problem. If the priming in the green rounds is lead free that is probably causing the failures to ignite. They're not as sensitive as the traditional lead styphnate. That may be causing the powder not to burn completely too.

Try it with some real ammo.
HAMMERHEAD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 07:39   #3
vafish

I would try some other ammo.

The H+R revolvers were not a thing of beauty, but they were a pretty solid gun.
educate children." -- Confucius
vafish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 08:10   #4
bruzer