Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups

SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 07-05-2012, 00:30   #1
SKY70

Sig 556

I'm new to rifles but am very interested if getting an Rifle for sport and self defense. I found a good deal on a Sig Sauer 556 patrol, but don not much about them. Been reading about them but would like to get some feedback from owners of the 556. Is it worth the extra cost? Any issues with them? Would you get one over a comp AR?

Thanks!

Sky
SKY70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2012, 08:45   #2
WoodenPlank
Who?

IMO, it's not worth the extra cost. Less parts available, the ones you can get are often more expensive, more expensive than an AR, and very little advantage for the cost. I have two good friends than own them, and they both have had hiccups along the way.
Old 07-05-2012, 09:22   #3
WayaX
Lifetime Membership

While I used to be a big proponent of the Sig 556, the quality issues coming out have yet to be addressed and customer service is getting worse as Cohen continues to have Sig dig it's own grave.

Problems unique to the Sig 556:

The quality of the components being used to build the rifles is not held to any standard (like they are in a reputable AR-15); QC is non-existent. The screw-on top rail is known to break off. The knock-off furniture is a baby-step above air-soft quality (Sig touts these as "Swiss style" to confuse people). The Swiss style butt stock has durability issues. The gas-ports are often drilled incorrectly (both holes close to same size) or drilled in reverse. Welds on the receiver are occasionally missing. The bolt has peening issues on the front trunion due to improper machining.

Problems with the 55X family: