GlockTalk.com
Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups



  
SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-21-2010, 19:28   #1
IQof1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 598
1st AR build, how do i "square" the upper?

i read in a previous post where a guy had a problem getting his iron sights to line up after replacing his upper with a flat top, in that post i saw a reference to squaring the upper.

i just bought a VLTOR MUR-1A and plan on putting a Daniel Defense 16" 1:7 barrel on it with a Troy MRF 14" free float rail system. i am hoping with everything i read about VLTOR's quality that the upper will be previously squared, if not, how do i go about makign it so?

thnx,

d
IQof1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 15:48   #2
IQof1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 598
bumpity
IQof1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 14:47   #3
C J
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 83
Good luck getting a reply. Just looked at a post asking what's up with the 'AR' GATE Forum. I had a question about an entry level AR. Guess I'll do my own research and decide for myself. Maybe Eric Holder and the anti-gunners took it over? Shut it down. Crickets!
C J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 15:10   #4
IQof1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 598
Ya, I went elsewhere and got my question answered.

"Squaring" the upper is basically putting it in a vice then using a carpenters square and level to make sure the front of the receiver where the barrel nut screws on is squared up with the top of a flat top upper.

If you have a question about your AR, I might be able to help you out. I have built about 10 so far for friends and family.
IQof1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 06:28   #5
reade
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 29
Deleted.

Last edited by reade; 10-08-2012 at 09:16..
reade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 09:06   #6
googanelli
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Florence,KY
Posts: 114
There is a pin on the barrel that sets it square into the upper reciever. If you are talking about the front sight block, you will either just reset the front sight and set the pins back or if replacing with a clamp on style, yes, you will have to level it off.

Joe
googanelli is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 16:02.



Homepage
FAQ
Forums
Calendar
Advertise
Gallery
GT Wiki
GT Blogs
Social Groups
Classifieds


Users Currently Online: 1,200
379 Members
821 Guests

Most users ever online: 2,244
Nov 11, 2013 at 11:42