Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups

SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 10-31-2012, 13:44   #1
mdpbowtech

Newb ? Case gage, caliper, or both

Total newb here as I just ordered a turret press a few days ago. I have been reading a lot on the forums and was curious if I could just use a 9mm case gage instead of using a caliper? I have not bought either one yet so was wondering if I needed both. I am only reloading 9mm and its just for range use out of my glock 19 if that matters.
mdpbowtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 13:54   #2
F106 Fan

You absolutely need a set of calipers to measure OAL. A case gauge will only measure against SAAMI Max OAL which is 1.169". I'm not even sure that all case gauges do this.

Basically, the case gauge is for checking case length from the case mouth to the case head and for checking diameter.

You don't absolutely need a case gauge because you can use the chamber of your Glock to do the same thing. Just remove the barrel from the gun, 'kerplunk' the round into the chamber and see that it fits. Now, rotate the round and make sure it drags only on the case mouth. The bullet should not touch the rifling - and it won't even come close in most cases.

It is likely that the Glock chamber is looser than a case gauge. You would be better served by doing both. Check dimensions with a case gauge and test functionality with a 'kerplunk' test.

I have both calipers and a case gauge for everything I reload. The rifle gauges check every dimension of the case but don't measure bullet dimensions or OAL.

Richard

Last edited by F106 Fan; 10-31-2012 at 15:10..
F106 Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 14:39   #3
fredj338