GlockTalk.com
Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups



  
SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-14-2012, 11:10   #1
airmotive
Tin Kicker
 
airmotive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Debris Field
Posts: 7,004
Blog Entries: 1
About to install Internet Explorer 10....

If you never hear from me again, blame Microsoft.

If you're feeling risky....

http://ie.microsoft.com/testdrive/in...s/default.html
__________________
----------------------------------------------------
Combine ignorance, arrogance and low altitude, and the result is guaranteed to be spectacular.
airmotive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 11:18   #2
airmotive
Tin Kicker
 
airmotive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Debris Field
Posts: 7,004
Blog Entries: 1
It appears to work.


However, none of the ads (including the thing that pops up which not be mentioned) are displaying. I like my banner ads.
__________________
----------------------------------------------------
Combine ignorance, arrogance and low altitude, and the result is guaranteed to be spectacular.
airmotive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 11:19   #3
Dennis in MA
Get off my lawn
 
Dennis in MA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Taunton, MA
Posts: 52,574
I can't read your posts, comrade. They are in Cyrillic.
__________________
The truth is you're the weak. And I'm the tyranny of evil men. But I'm tryin', Ringo. I'm tryin' real hard to be the shepherd.
Dennis in MA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 11:20   #4
kensb2
pistol n00b
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Apache, OK
Posts: 1,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by airmotive View Post
It appears to work.


However, none of the ads (including the thing that pops up which not be mentioned) are displaying. I like my banner ads.
Can you give us some thoughts/initial impressions once you've messed with it a bit? I suppose it can't get any worse than previous versions.
kensb2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 11:25   #5
airmotive
Tin Kicker
 
airmotive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Debris Field
Posts: 7,004
Blog Entries: 1
The biggest difference I can tell is that the icon says IE10 instead of IE9.

The initial info page said all websites are initially given "do not track" status by default.
Perhaps that's the reason I'm getting no ads on GT.(?)

Nothing really jumping out. Seems to be more of a 9.1 than 10.0.
__________________
----------------------------------------------------
Combine ignorance, arrogance and low altitude, and the result is guaranteed to be spectacular.
airmotive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 11:40   #6
Phaze5ive
Senior Member
 
Phaze5ive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The Land of Teddy Bears
Posts: 683
The only good thing about IE 10 is that it allows you to download Chrome a little bit faster.
Phaze5ive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 11:44   #7
kensb2
pistol n00b
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Apache, OK
Posts: 1,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phaze5ive View Post
The only good thing about IE 10 is that it allows you to download Chrome a little bit faster.
I believe that is certified sig line material there!
kensb2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 11:44   #8
Glock20 10mm
Use Linux!
 
Glock20 10mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Land of Idiots and Libtards
Posts: 14,513
IEeeeeeeee it's a mess! Firefox is the answer (although I am giving Chrome a second look).
__________________
Using Microsoft is like playing Russian roulette with an automatic pistol... the results are always messy
"The Constitution is my Law. The Declaration of Independence my bible. And Freedom my religion." - Me
Thick skin... a must in a free society.
Glock20 10mm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 12:21   #9
airmotive
Tin Kicker
 
airmotive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Debris Field
Posts: 7,004
Blog Entries: 1
awww frick.
Just got popped up. Oh well.
Still no banner ads though. Curious.
My conclusion on IE10 is....can't tell the difference.
__________________
----------------------------------------------------
Combine ignorance, arrogance and low altitude, and the result is guaranteed to be spectacular.
airmotive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 17:47   #10
LEO/Dad
Navy Veteran
 
LEO/Dad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 888
Google Chrome

I have been running Chrome on all three of my computers for years now, couldn't be happier........IE was just too slow!
LEO/Dad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 02:37   #11
Toyman
Senior Member
 
Toyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 3,790
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phaze5ive View Post
The only good thing about IE 10 is that it allows you to download Chrome a little bit faster.
You forgot about faster drive by downloads, faster ActiveX malware, and faster built-in Adobe Flash Player crashes.
__________________
Mike - A forum post should be like a skirt. Long enough to cover the subject material, but short enough to keep things interesting.
"It's not about the odds, it's about the stakes." - quake
Toyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 03:17   #12
Grabbrass
Senior Member
 
Grabbrass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Almost Heaven
Posts: 3,833
Chrome + AdBlock ... it's a beautiful thing.
Grabbrass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 03:20   #13
NeverMore1701
Platinum Membership
Fear no evil.
 
NeverMore1701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Amarillo, Tx
Posts: 27,721
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grabbrass View Post
Chrome + AdBlock ... it's a beautiful thing.
This right here.
__________________
And if we should die tonight
We should all die together
Raise a glass of wine
For the last time
NeverMore1701 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 11:08   #14
wjv
Senior Member
 
wjv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 12,260
Quote:
Originally Posted by kensb2 View Post
I suppose it can't get any worse than previous versions.
Never underestimate Microsoft.

If there is a way to make something worse, they will do it!
__________________
Bill
Pacific NW


The urge to save humanity is almost always a false-face for the urge to rule it.
- H. L. Mencken -
wjv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 11:19   #15
airmotive
Tin Kicker
 
airmotive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Debris Field
Posts: 7,004
Blog Entries: 1
It appears that this version of IE has a built-in spell checker that works in the 'quick reply' window. Anything that's misspelled gets auto-corrected or underlined in red (sorta like MS Word....and yes, "sorta" is underlined in my reply window). No clicking on the little "ABC-Check" button (which I never did to begin with).

Nice feature and the only real difference I can find so far.
__________________
----------------------------------------------------
Combine ignorance, arrogance and low altitude, and the result is guaranteed to be spectacular.

Last edited by airmotive; 11-15-2012 at 11:19..
airmotive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 11:39   #16
Spiffums
I.C.P.
 
Spiffums's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,110
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glock20 10mm View Post
IEeeeeeeee it's a mess! Firefox is the answer (although I am giving Chrome a second look).
Chrome is a LOT faster if your a multi tab user. Firefox seems to wanna bloat up too fast.
__________________
Internet Celebrity Personality
Spiffums is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 11:43   #17
TK-421
Senior Member
 
TK-421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,563
The only reason IE exists is so you can download Firefox as soon as you turn the computer on for the first time. Other than that, I never touch it.
TK-421 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 18:32   #18
paynter2
It ain't over
 
paynter2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: upper mid-west
Posts: 8,702


Quote:
Originally Posted by airmotive View Post
It appears that this version of IE has a built-in spell checker that works in the 'quick reply' window. Anything that's misspelled gets auto-corrected or underlined in red (sorta like MS Word....and yes, "sorta" is underlined in my reply window). No clicking on the little "ABC-Check" button (which I never did to begin with).

Nice feature and the only real difference I can find so far.


I used to have that (google spellcheck). But, it is no longer available with Firefox. I supposed FF blocks it, not Google. No matter - I don't really want any Google on my PC anyway.
__________________
"Power always has to be kept in check; power exercised in secret, especially under the cloak of national security, is doubly dangerous." ...William Proxmire, US senator, reformer (1915-2005)

Last edited by paynter2; 11-15-2012 at 19:21..
paynter2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 18:38   #19
AngryPanda
Is he a troll?
 
AngryPanda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,066
IE is terrible. Seriously, everyone reading this. It is not hard. Type "chrome" into google and download it. Then, type "adblock" in and download that. Simple as that, takes minutes. Do it.
__________________
Impressive list of guns I own, some of which are in BOLD LETTERS
Quote from 16 year old chain e-mail I received yesterday that will never get tiresome!
AngryPanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 20:01   #20
sappy13
Senior Member
 
sappy13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Bremen, GA
Posts: 2,732
I exclusively use chrome unless I have to use IE for something. I let all my clients use IE, but thats just for uniformity and since most sites work in it. I installed IE10 last night to see it but havent used it yet. it seemed a tad faster than IE9, yet still slower than chrome. I just love chrome for its extensions, especially the google voice one. It lets me text from my pc, which im at constantly since im in IT. That plus adblock of course
sappy13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 20:43   #21
cgwahl
Sheriffs a near
 
cgwahl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: CA
Posts: 11,103
Quote:
Originally Posted by paynter2 View Post
I used to have that (google spellcheck). But, it is no longer available with Firefox. I supposed FF blocks it, not Google. No matter - I don't really want any Google on my PC anyway.

Firefox has had a spell check many versions ago so it's not really needed unless Google's dictionary is better. If you aren't seeing red lines under misspelled words, then it may be something you need to turn on under Tools somewhere.


EDIT:
Tools -> Options -> Advanced -> General

Under Browsing, check off "Check spelling as I type."
__________________
The irony of the information age is that we can't necessarily trust all the information.


Pawsitively Stylish Mobile Pet Salon (Southern California)

Last edited by cgwahl; 11-15-2012 at 20:46..
cgwahl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:49.



Homepage
FAQ
Forums
Calendar
Advertise
Gallery
GT Wiki
GT Blogs
Social Groups
Classifieds


Users Currently Online: 940
239 Members
701 Guests

Most users ever online: 2,244
Nov 11, 2013 at 11:42