Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups



  
SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

 
  
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-19-2012, 22:44   #1
atyszka
Member
 
atyszka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 69
Split Case - Any Ideas?

Was at the range today testing some loads I'm working on and found these 2 cases early on. There were no others, but it's not that hot of a round so I'm surprised and wondering if anyone else has seen this. I wouldn't be concerned if this was the 3rd time for this brass, but they're brand new.

New Starline brass
Stock G20
50F, 81% Humidity, 902 ft elevation
165 gr GDHP
15.6 gr AA #9
CCI 350
1311 avg fps
1.255 OAL

No other pressure signs (other than slightly flat primers which is always the case for me), case head is only .433

Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
10mm Reloading Forum - Click for larger version  
__________________
Art Tyszka
- NRA Life
- GSSF

Last edited by atyszka; 11-19-2012 at 22:45..
atyszka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 23:00   #2
_The_Shadow
Ret. Fireman
 
_The_Shadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Southeast, LoUiSiAna
Posts: 4,269
That happens sometimes, brass may have been brittle in that area and as it stretched it split. Usually Star Line is soft and rarel splits like that, however I have seen many factory loads split their cases on the initial firing! Better case support can also help as the stock Glock chambers are loose.
Good luck!
__________________
Southeast, LoUiSiAna
NRA Life Member
BASS Life Member
_The_Shadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 23:33   #3
Yondering
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 563
I agree with Shadow. Weird that it happened with new Starline brass, but with that load, I think you just got some bad brass. I've run into batches of Winchester and Lake City 5.56 brass that do that in factory ammo; sometimes it just happens.
Yondering is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 00:13   #4
WeeWilly
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: PRK
Posts: 1,601
I have had an occasional split on new Starline with my G20/29 loads. I think if you are getting more than a couple in a batch of hundreds, I would contact Starline and see what they think. I think my failure rate might be like 1-2 every few thousand.
WeeWilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 07:17   #5
atyszka
Member
 
atyszka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 69
Thanks for the insight guys. I've loaded tens of thousands of .40 and only see this on cases that I've shot 3-4 times. So I was surprised when it happened to a new case. I'll watch and if anymore pop up with mild loads I'll contact Starline. I ordered 1500 new and have shot about 700, so almost half way through the batch.
__________________
Art Tyszka
- NRA Life
- GSSF
atyszka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 10:00   #6
SDGlock23
Glockoholic
 
SDGlock23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Land of Forgetfulness
Posts: 7,653
I had the same thing happen with some Top Brass I had at one time, lots of splitting going on.
__________________
"Condemnation without investigation is the height of ignorance."
SDGlock23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 14:58   #7
OregonG20
Senior Member
 
OregonG20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 359
Quote:
Originally Posted by atyszka View Post
Was at the range today testing some loads I'm working on and found these 2 cases early on. There were no others, but it's not that hot of a round so I'm surprised and wondering if anyone else has seen this. I wouldn't be concerned if this was the 3rd time for this brass, but they're brand new.

New Starline brass
Stock G20
50F, 81% Humidity, 902 ft elevation
165 gr GDHP
15.6 gr AA #9
CCI 350
1311 avg fps
1.255 OAL

No other pressure signs (other than slightly flat primers which is always the case for me), case head is only .433

Thanks
I've had new Starline do the same to me with 155gr and 180gr XTP's. CCI300, 1.26 COAL and close to book max charges of AA #9 as well. No other signs of pressure. No problems either.
I think it just happens with Starline brass sometimes. Hasn't stopped me from shooting or changing my loads. YMMV.
__________________
"The Centimeter Magnum of God."

-Berto
OregonG20 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 22:06   #8
Taterhead
Counting Beans
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 2,958
The charge is certainly not a mild load. It is a tad over book max, but the brass is the culprit. Sometimes they are not properly annealed from the factory. It happens. Vertical splits in the middle of the case are not terribly problematic. Horizontal ones near the head are a different story.

A small handful out of a box of a thousand will do that in my experience.
Taterhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 11:11   #9
AstraPat
Member
 
AstraPat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 91
Brass issue for sure. I would suspect the annealing process wasn't properly completed

P
__________________
God created all men... they say Sam Colt made 'em equal. More or less -Matthew Quigley
AstraPat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 11:35   #10
Kwesi
Senior Member
 
Kwesi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: TX
Posts: 1,557
It happens to my 10mm Starline brass after numerous loadings. My nickel seem to last longer compared to regular brass.
Kwesi is offline   Reply With Quote

 
  
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:30.




Homepage
FAQ
Forums
Calendar
Advertise
Gallery
GT Wiki
GT Blogs
Social Groups
Classifieds


Users Currently Online: 1,220
305 Members
915 Guests

Most users ever online: 2,672
Aug 11, 2014 at 2:31