Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups



  
SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

 
  
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-26-2012, 21:43   #1
HollowHead
Firm member
 
HollowHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Where the buffalo roam
Posts: 24,024


Skype for ipad Problem...

I'm trying to install Skype on my new gen 4 ipad from the App Store and it intalls just fine but goes right to "Log In and Username". How do I set up a new identity for the ipad seperate from my windows desktop where it's also installed? Do I need to install it from a different network than my house wifi? HH
__________________
Never trust a pastor with a day job.

Sent from two coffee cans connected by a string.
HollowHead is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 06:02   #2
IndyGunFreak
KO Windows
 
IndyGunFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Indiana
Posts: 30,501
Send a message via ICQ to IndyGunFreak Send a message via AIM to IndyGunFreak Send a message via MSN to IndyGunFreak Send a message via Yahoo to IndyGunFreak Send a message via Skype™ to IndyGunFreak


I don't really understand the question.

So you install Skype from the App station, and it automatically logs in with your Skype Account, that you have on another computer on the network? That doesn't make sense, unless you gave it your account info during the install process, and then set it to "auto login" with that account. We've got 3 Skype accounts on 2 separate PC's, and never had that issue.

Sorry if this seems overly simple, but maybe I don't understand you problem.

First... Go here and create a new Skype account. https://login.skype.com/account/sign...=scom_redesign

After that... Start Skype on the Ipad. Once it finishes loading (and presumably signs on).. click "Sign Out" on the buddy list (note, not Quit)

Once it logs out, you should be presented with a Login Window. Enter your new Username/Password you just created. If you don't want it to auto login, make sure that option is unchecked.

IGF
__________________
Quote:
Ronald Reagan
"If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under."
"Man is not free unless Government is limited"
IndyGunFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 17:39   #3
HollowHead
Firm member
 
HollowHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Where the buffalo roam
Posts: 24,024


What happens is that I install Skype and it goes right to the "Log In" and "Username" window. I'm trying to figure out how to get to some kind of "sign in" window first so that I can create a new identity on the ipad. Or, do I log into the new install on the ipad under my exiting (desktop) identity and do some kind of modifications there? Thanks. HH
__________________
Never trust a pastor with a day job.

Sent from two coffee cans connected by a string.
HollowHead is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 06:40   #4
IndyGunFreak
KO Windows
 
IndyGunFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Indiana
Posts: 30,501
Send a message via ICQ to IndyGunFreak Send a message via AIM to IndyGunFreak Send a message via MSN to IndyGunFreak Send a message via Yahoo to IndyGunFreak Send a message via Skype™ to IndyGunFreak


Quote:
Originally Posted by HollowHead View Post
What happens is that I install Skype and it goes right to the "Log In" and "Username" window. I'm trying to figure out how to get to some kind of "sign in" window first so that I can create a new identity on the ipad. Or, do I log into the new install on the ipad under my exiting (desktop) identity and do some kind of modifications there? Thanks. HH
Now I'm totally confused.

IF you're getting a "Login and username".. screen.. just create an account on Skype.com, then type your new username and password in the login window.
__________________
Quote:
Ronald Reagan
"If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under."
"Man is not free unless Government is limited"
IndyGunFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 20:47   #5
RDW
BTDT
 
RDW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: PRK
Posts: 2,851
Just bought an IPAD 4, and I feel like I'm in Pre-School

I created a SKYPE account on my "desktop." How do I access it on my IPAD?

I've been dealing with PC's since 4/91, but this ipad has me totally Frustrated! Is there an IPAD for DUMMIES - Cause I am ONE?

I have about 20 hours invested in making this thing work, and I'm close to GIVING IT AWAY!

I'm totally frustrated with the experience!

__________________
Formerly Posted as "Big Dawg #383" (10/2000)
Joined John Birch Society in 1961; when others were Hippie Scum & NOW they're running our Country!

I'm MUCH MORE Conservative NOW.
RDW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 14:55   #6
Bucknasty
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 136
Really? I've yet to find a more user friendly device than the iPad/iPhone. Install Skype then enter user name and password. I don't understand the issue?


Posted using Outdoor Hub Campfire
Bucknasty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 14:56   #7
Bucknasty
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 136
If its on your "desktop" then it's not on your iPad. Download Skype from the App Store.


Posted using Outdoor Hub Campfire
Bucknasty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 18:41   #8
HollowHead
Firm member
 
HollowHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Where the buffalo roam
Posts: 24,024


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bucknasty View Post
Really? I've yet to find a more user friendly device than the iPad/iPhone. Install Skype then enter user name and password. I don't understand the issue?


Posted using Outdoor Hub Campfire

Am I supposed to use the username and password for my desktop Skype account? What I can't figure out is how a brand new install in a brand new ipad automatically assumes I have a Skype account... HH
__________________
Never trust a pastor with a day job.

Sent from two coffee cans connected by a string.

Last edited by HollowHead; 11-29-2012 at 18:55..
HollowHead is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 20:21   #9
Bucknasty
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 136
Yes this is just a gateway to the Skype server. All of your Skype info is saved on the Internet. The app is just a means to access that info.


Posted using Outdoor Hub Campfire
Bucknasty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 03:47   #10
IndyGunFreak
KO Windows
 
IndyGunFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Indiana
Posts: 30,501
Send a message via ICQ to IndyGunFreak Send a message via AIM to IndyGunFreak Send a message via MSN to IndyGunFreak Send a message via Yahoo to IndyGunFreak Send a message via Skype™ to IndyGunFreak


Quote:
Originally Posted by HollowHead View Post
Am I supposed to use the username and password for my desktop Skype account? What I can't figure out is how a brand new install in a brand new ipad automatically assumes I have a Skype account... HH
In your first post, you indicated you wanted a separate Skype account on your Ipad... If you want the same account on both, then just sign in with your Skype username/password.
__________________
Quote:
Ronald Reagan
"If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under."
"Man is not free unless Government is limited"
IndyGunFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 15:57   #11
HollowHead
Firm member
 
HollowHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Where the buffalo roam
Posts: 24,024


I can't explain why, but on my fourth attempt at downloading it from the App Store, I now have the "New to Skype? Create an Account" bar I was looking for. Thanks. HH
__________________
Never trust a pastor with a day job.

Sent from two coffee cans connected by a string.
HollowHead is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 01:01   #12
ChiefWPD
Senior Member
 
ChiefWPD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Wellfleet MA
Posts: 3,398
For what it's worth, I gave up on Skype on my iPad 3 and now use FaceTime. Works great.
__________________
Who the hell is Balko?
ChiefWPD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 23:29   #13
HollowHead
Firm member
 
HollowHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Where the buffalo roam
Posts: 24,024


Quote:
Originally Posted by ChiefWPD View Post
For what it's worth, I gave up on Skype on my iPad 3 and now use FaceTime. Works great.
Will FaceTime allow me to talk with my Skype contacts and vice-versa?
__________________
Never trust a pastor with a day job.

Sent from two coffee cans connected by a string.
HollowHead is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 21:19   #14
Bucknasty
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by HollowHead View Post
Will FaceTime allow me to talk with my Skype contacts and vice-versa?
No. Only other apple users. The two do not share.


Posted using Outdoor Hub Campfire
Bucknasty is offline   Reply With Quote

 
  
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 17:26.




Homepage
FAQ
Forums
Calendar
Advertise
Gallery
GT Wiki
GT Blogs
Social Groups
Classifieds


Users Currently Online: 1,062
303 Members
759 Guests

Most users ever online: 2,672
Aug 11, 2014 at 2:31