SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 03-06-2013, 20:43   #1
M2 Carbine

Need new computer monitor

My monitor is craping out.
When I turn on the computer I have to hit the monitor Off/On button 8-10 times before I get a picture. Works OK once it get's started.

So, Any brands to get or stay away from?
This old one is a "ViewSonic". Got it off the internet some years back. It worked good for years up to a couple weeks ago
Now I'm using a OLD, OLD CRT Compaq but small screen and takes up way too much space.

Second question.
I hate the new Photobucket. It's slow and keeps locking up on me. I've been using Photobucket for MANY years, so I guess it's time for them to screw it up.

So the question is, what's a good replacement?
M2 Carbine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 22:33   #2
kc8ykd

i can't speak towards your second question, however, i personally prefer samsung and asus monitors.

hit newegg.com and search for either of those brands for something within your budget and you can't go wrong.
kc8ykd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 01:51   #3
Bushflyr
ʇno uıƃuɐɥ ʇsnɾ

Not too sure about particular brands, lately I find myself using a lot of Asus stuff. The big thing to keep in mind is the resolution. At work we have 27" Dell monitors. At home I have a 27" iMac. The work monitors are 1900
X1080. My iMac is 2560x1440. After a day of video editing on my iMac my eyes are completely fine. After half that long at work I can definitely feel the eyestrain.

going to pay more for the higher resolution, but all 27" monitors are definitely not created equal. And after using a 27 I'll never go back to a tiny screen, the extra real estate is just too valuable.

That which does not kill you has made a tactical error. --Tayler
Bushflyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 02:14   #4
Taphius

Monoprice is making some 27inch monitors. Worth checking out

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using Tapatalk 2