GlockTalk.com
Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups

SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 04-23-2013, 17:34   #1
NEO Hunter

Do I want a QR scope mount or Traditional Scope mount?

I have narrowed my scope mount search to a LaRue, Rock River, or Burris PEPR. What I can't decide is if I want to get a QR and run a flip up rear sight as a back up or save the money and just mount with a traditional mount.I dont see myself taking it off much but I am new to ARs so I am not familiar with the benefits. I am using the rifle for coyote hunting and a little plinking. All opinions appreciated.

Posted using Outdoor Hub Campfire
NEO Hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 17:43   #2
faawrenchbndr
CLM Number 281
NRA Life Member

Does not sound as if you even need back up sights.
Get a quality set of rings and a good scope.
faawrenchbndr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 17:44   #3
WoodenPlank
Who?

I try to avoid non-QD scope mounts. If the scope gets wrecked, you can drop it from the rifle in a few seconds, deploy iron sights, and continue on. Plus, it makes swapping optics easier.

If you go QD, it's really hard to beat LaRue. I use LT mounts for both my Leupold and my Aimpoint Micro.
Old 04-23-2013, 17:52   #4
PVolk

I prefer QR mounts for scopes and bipods. If you ever think you'll want to remove the scope, it's nice to know you won't need to spend time and ammo getting back to zero again.
Old 04-23-2013, 18:10   #5
WoodenPlank
Who?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PVolk View Post
I prefer QR mounts for scopes and bipods. If you ever think you'll want to remove the scope, it's nice to know you won't need to spend time and ammo getting back to zero again.
Depends on the mount. Some return to zero better than others.
Old 04-23-2013, 18:24   #6
PVolk

Quote:
Originally Posted by WoodenPlank View Post
Right. I wouldn't use anything other than a PEPR or Larue.
Old 04-23-2013, 18:26   #7
Travclem