Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups

SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 12-11-2013, 16:28   #1
Galatians

1911 for a Gen 4 Glock 32

Hey guys, first post here. I've owned several Glocks through the past 6 years, and also been a big 1911 fan and the way they shoot (who isn't?). I am an NRA pistol instructor and was out at the range last weekend completing the range portion for my enhanced CCW permit Idaho started offering last year, and was very disappointed with the way my Kimber Raptor II performed. Of the 98 rounds I fired, I only had one magazine that functioned properly. FTF left and right. It had only been 150 rounds since I last cleaned it. It was -11 outside with the wind chill. I am guessing the lube I had on the gun was too heavy and gummed the slide up causing the failures. Being that I live in Idaho, I can't get away from the cold weather. It's cold six months out of the year, and I don't want a gun that is so finicky and sensitive to the weather and other conditions to the point where it really isn't reliable. At least I don't feel 100% comfortable with the functionality. I don't want to have to clean it after every time I shoot it, nor do I want to change to lube based on the temperature outside. The 1911 will be a range shooter only for me moving forward.

I owned a G27 in the past, and had a .357 sig conversion barrel for it and that is when I fell in love with the cartridge. I really like the ballistics and performance, and I shoot it well. The compact is the perfect size in my opinion, so I am going with the gen 4 G32. I'll probably buy a .40 conversion barrel as well just to have. Just thought I'd get this out there and welcome opinions or feedback. Thanks!

Last edited by Galatians; 12-11-2013 at 16:29..
Galatians is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2013, 16:39   #2
DocWills