GlockTalk.com
Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups



  
SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-02-2004, 04:34   #1
cowboy
Gone reloadin'
 
cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Northern NY USA
Posts: 46
Hard Drive OS question

Current HD is a 10GB with XP as the OS. Purchased a new HD that is a 40GB. Currently the 40 is installed as the slave without an OS.

Question:

How do I make the 40 the master and can I use the OS from the 10 for the 40 ? If so how?

Thanks.
cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2004, 04:42   #2
BLiTzNicK
Silent Member
 
BLiTzNicK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit
Posts: 2,478
Norton Ghost
__________________
Laws that forbid the carrying of arms...disarm only those who are neither inclined or determined to commit crimes...
--Thomas Jefferson
BLiTzNicK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2004, 08:34   #3
N2DFire
Who Me ???
 
N2DFire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Ferrum, VA
Posts: 627
Ghost is good

Also Partition Magic will work.
__________________
Stephen
Big Dawg #1156, Black Rifle #20, GOTOD #3, Fire & EMS Talk #2302
N2DFire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2004, 13:20   #4
David_G17
/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/
 
David_G17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 7,678
Re: Hard Drive OS question

Quote:
Originally posted by cowboy
Current HD is a 10GB with XP as the OS. Purchased a new HD that is a 40GB. Currently the 40 is installed as the slave without an OS.

Question:

How do I make the 40 the master and can I use the OS from the 10 for the 40 ? If so how?

Thanks.
i think you need to move the 40 gig to the end of the IDE cable (the cable between the drive and the motherboard) then put the slave drive in the middle of the cable.

this assumes the drives can autodetect if they should be master or slave; otherwise, you need to set the jumpers on the backs of the drives.

norton ghost can copy the 10 gig o the 40 gig.
__________________
"One handgun a month is too much."
"If you ask me, 12 handguns/year is too much."
"I'd be OK with one gun a year."
"We need the strong gun regs and enforcement Europe has."
-DU debates America's future 10/23/2005
David_G17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2004, 14:39   #5
NetNinja
Always Faithful
 
NetNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: HotLanta, GA
Posts: 2,424
Keep the OS on the 10GB and install your other applications on your 40GB.
__________________
G17,G22,G30,Sig P229 Sport
Kimber CC Series 1,Kimber CCR Series 1
SA TRP Operator SA 1911A1
S&W 1911, 686, M19, 627VComp,ColtDE10mm
Anschutz 1813 Super Match
NetNinja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2004, 15:25   #6
pyblood
Senior Member
 
pyblood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 948
Re: Re: Hard Drive OS question

Quote:
Originally posted by David_G17
i think you need to move the 40 gig to the end of the IDE cable (the cable between the drive and the motherboard) then put the slave drive in the middle of the cable.

this assumes the drives can autodetect if they should be master or slave; otherwise, you need to set the jumpers on the backs of the drives.

norton ghost can copy the 10 gig o the 40 gig.
Ditto!
pyblood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2004, 16:50   #7
0100010
Senior Member
 
0100010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: DFW
Posts: 3,359


I'd say keep the OS on the 10Gb drive, keep all your user files and stuff on the 40Gb drive. That way when your OS crashes(its Microsoft, beleive me it will crash), you only have to replace it on a small drive, and all your stuff on the 40Gb drive will be unaffected.
__________________
Member #1001 | 357Sig | Kalashnikov | TechTalk | Lone Star Glockers
SheepDog
0100010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2004, 19:25   #8
freepatriot
Retired GT Mod
 
freepatriot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: South FL
Posts: 35,354


Another option would be to get out your XP cd, install to the 40GB a new, fresh install of the OS, and then start setting it up. Nothing beats a nice fresh install.
__________________
Still breathing
scottauldmusic.com
freepatriot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2004, 21:27   #9
pyblood
Senior Member
 
pyblood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 948
Quote:
Originally posted by scottauld
Another option would be to get out your XP cd, install to the 40GB a new, fresh install of the OS, and then start setting it up. Nothing beats a nice fresh install.
Scottauld is right. There's nothing like a clean install of any OS. I would put the new OS on the 40gb drive and use the 10gb drive as a slave. I would probably put MP3s or other data on it.
This is a question that crossed my mind. Do you have a full version of WIN XP? I am asking that, becasue if you have a upgrade CD, you'll need another Windows CD or you'll need to save some files on a disk in order to install XP on the new 40gb drive.
pyblood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2004, 01:07   #10
nothing
Advertisement
 
nothing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Brandon, MS
Posts: 1,895
Don't waste your money on ghost unless you think you will use it's other features. If all you want to do is a data transfer the hard drive should already have a cd with a data transfer utility. If it doesn't just visit the manufacturers web site and download it from there.
nothing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2004, 08:37   #11
grenadier
Senior Member
 
grenadier's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Alabama
Posts: 6,401


Check the CD that came with your motherboard. There's a reasonable chance that it actually has the OEM version of Norton's Ghost on it, as well as Norton Antivirus, and some other hidden goodies.
__________________
Dean of the Darth Vader School of Personnel Management
grenadier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2004, 09:26   #12
AAshooter
Senior Member
 
AAshooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Kalifornia
Posts: 3,078


If I was going to go through that much work, I would suggest going to a much bigger drive. Perhaps buy a second 40G and set them up in a RAID.

I think Net Ninja's advice is good. I am not sure what you are trying to accomplish by switching them.
__________________
That Murphy guy has been around a while.
"Anything that can happen with a gun probably will happen, sooner or later." --John M. Browning around 1890
AAshooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2004, 20:34   #13
popnfresh
dauernd wachsam
 
popnfresh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Corpus Christi
Posts: 1,408
Send a message via Yahoo to popnfresh
I'm bringing this post back....

I just bought a 80G hard drive (WD 7200rpm 8MB cache) at Best Buy for $99 -$50 in rebates, I couldn't find a better price online so I got it.

I am thinking I want to use the new drive as master because my current drive is 40gig 5200rpm 2mb cache, so wouldn't I want to transfer everything to the faster drive?
popnfresh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2004, 16:25   #14
David_G17
/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/
 
David_G17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 7,678
Quote:
Originally posted by popnfresh

I am thinking I want to use the new drive as master because my current drive is 40gig 5200rpm 2mb cache, so wouldn't I want to transfer everything to the faster drive?
that's what i'd do.
__________________
"One handgun a month is too much."
"If you ask me, 12 handguns/year is too much."
"I'd be OK with one gun a year."
"We need the strong gun regs and enforcement Europe has."
-DU debates America's future 10/23/2005
David_G17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2004, 17:22   #15
Tennessee Slim
CLM Number 93
Señor Member
 
Tennessee Slim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mucus City, USA
Posts: 6,685
Cowboy, put your OS on your fastest HDD and distribute your page file over all available HDDs. I also move all temp directories off the OSes HDD. It better distributes the workload over all available HDDs.

Quote:
Originally posted by popnfresh
...I just bought a 80G hard drive (WD 7200rpm 8MB cache) at Best Buy for $99 -$50 in rebates, I couldn't find a better price online so I got it....
Tiger Direct has 200GB WD HDDs w/8MB cache for $90 after rebates.
__________________
It took a Carter to bring us a Reagan

"The principal feature of American liberalism is sanctimoniousness. By loudly denouncing all bad things — war and hunger and date rape — liberals testify to their own terrific goodness. More important, they promote themselves to membership in a self-selecting elite of those who care deeply about such things.... It's a kind of natural aristocracy, and the wonderful thing about this aristocracy is that you don't have to be brave, smart, strong or even lucky to join it, you just have to be liberal."
-- P.J. O'Rourke (1992)
Tennessee Slim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 15:17.



Homepage
FAQ
Forums
Calendar
Advertise
Gallery
GT Wiki
GT Blogs
Social Groups
Classifieds


Users Currently Online: 1,143
342 Members
801 Guests

Most users ever online: 2,244
Nov 11, 2013 at 11:42